Strawberry Salad with Sugared Almonds

This salad makes me feel good all over. I feel womanly. I feel thin. I feel sexy.

I like this salad so much because it has all that I need to fill me up, and taste great at the same time. I love the way that the sweet poppyseed dressing goes with the strawberries, sugared almonds, goats cheese, and cranberries. The lettuce adds a little green and screams “you are healthy, baby – strut it”.

So eat this for lunch with a cocktail in hand and sunscreen on your skin. You’ll feel unstoppable. Oh, and make sure to wear cute sandals too. That’s always a good idea.

For the dressing, in a small bowl, whisk sugar, mayonnaise, milk, vinegar and poppy seeds.

Pour that dressing over the rest of your ingredients and enjoy!

Strawberry Salad with Sugared Almonds
From the Bite me cookbook
Serves 6

Ingredients:
Poppy Seed Dressing
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup mayonnaise
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp white vinegar
2 tsp poppy seeds

8 cups romaine lettuce, torn into bite sized pieces
1 recipe of sugared almonds
1 cup sliced strawberries
½ cup dried cranberries
¼ cup crumbled goats cheese (I used goat cheese balls)

Directions:
Prepare sugared almonds.

For the dressing, in a small bowl, whisk sugar, mayonnaise, milk, vinegar and poppy seeds.

In a large bowl, combine lettuce, strawberries, cranberries, and sugared almonds. Toss with dressing and goats cheese and serve.

Note: A BIG thanks to Alicia Leroux for taking all of these photos. You rock my world! AND…I want your camera.

Comments

  1. What a perfect summer salad! Wish I had this for dinner right now!

  2. This is the perfect salad for summer! I love fresh berries in salads…so pretty!

  3. Your description of this salad really makes me want to say, “I’ll have what she’s having!” :) That’s one fabulous salad.

  4. I’ve had strawberry salads before, but never with goat cheese. Delicious!!

  5. I love a little sweetness and crunch in my salads. The strawberries and almonds provide both, and beautifully!

  6. Loving this salad, the perfect combo of sweet meets savory :)

  7. The strawberries make this salad looks very pretty and inviting. The almond give the crunch… what a perfect salad to have.

  8. Looks refreshing and light- excellent for a summer salad! Love the goat cheese.

  9. Oh yum, we were at a baby shower yesterday and had a salad similar to this one. It was so good! Now I can make it at home :)

  10. That is a beautiful salad. I really love your blog :)

  11. Looks so good. I love summer salads. Do you think the dressing would be as good if I substituted the sugar for honey and the mayo for greek style yogurt?

  12. I am a salad fanatic I am on a diet and looking for different kinds of salad online and here is a perfect one. =)

  13. This sounds so refreshing! And those almonds sound delicious just on their own!

  14. Mixing fruit into salads is not one of my favourite things, although I have been known to enjoy a good Waldorf salad! This strawberry salad however has everyhing I love altogether in one dish. I even completely get the addition of strawberries in there! I will definitely be making this!

  15. yum this looks GREAT! Strawberry salads are my fave!

    xoxo-
    Jamielyn
    I ♥ Nap Time

  16. This sounds so good! I love the fruit and nuts combo. Now that the weather is so hot I’m going to be making more things like this!

Leave a comment