Sugared Almonds

Ever get a craving for something sweet, but don’t want to stuff your face with chocolate bars? Me neither..no, I’m kidding I do. Late at night when I’m craving something sweet I try to snack on something healthy. My personal favorite? Sugared almonds. They are easy and quick to make, and always jolt me with the little boost I need. They’re filling too!

These almonds are also great on a salad! So make a triple batch, eat 2/3’s of it, and throw the rest on some yummy greens.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp water
3/4 cup slivered almonds

Directions:
1. In a medium saucepan combine sugar and water together over medium heat until sugar dissolves.
2. Add slivered almonds and stir to coat. Continue to cook until sugar and almonds turn golden.
3. Remove from heat and place almonds on a piece of aluminum foil that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray.

Comments

  1. H. Stewart says:

    Good idea. Great for salads when we have company. Also as you say, good for snaking on while watching the Olympics :)

  2. Definitely. Make sure to use SUGAR too, and not splenda. I made that mistake. You can cut the sugar in half if you’d like it to be a lower calorie snack.

  3. These sound like a really great snack on hand! Those late night sugar cravings can be so dangerous…

  4. These look delicious and so simple! Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. […] cups romaine lettuce, torn into bite sized pieces 1 recipe of sugared almonds 1 cup sliced strawberries ½ cup dried cranberries ¼ cup crumbled goats cheese (I used goat cheese […]

Leave a comment