Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts

I didn’t make any resolutions for 2013, or maybe I just don’t want to call them resolutions.

Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts // Warm Vanilla Sugar

Whatever the case, I do have a few goals:
I want to qualify for the Boston Marathon (high hopes), and I want to make this blog a bit more consistent – posting every Tuesday and Thursday, etc. Also I want to test out a few new segments. Running topics for example, and overall “favorite things” from the month. We’ll see how they go, but hopefully you like them!

Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts // Warm Vanilla Sugar

I posted a big a beautiful cookie recipe last, but I wanted to give you some green stuff. This particular salad makes me swoon. It’s full of candied walnuts, goats cheese, buttered croutons and fancy arugula. Get in my belly! Also, it’s another recipe from Shutterbean, who has been filling my weekly menus lately. Thanks Tracy!

Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts // Warm Vanilla Sugar

To start making this, get your candied walnuts ready. Combine brown sugar, water, butter and salt in a heavy large skillet. Bring to boil, whisking. Boil 1 minute. Add walnuts and stir.

DSC_0408

Toss until syrup forms glaze on nuts, about 3 minutes.

DSC_0409

Transfer nuts to sheet of foil sprayed with oil and quickly separate nuts with fork. Cool.

DSC_0411

Whisk oil and vinegar in small bowl. Season dressing with salt and pepper. Place arugula in large bowl. Drop in croutons, and goat cheese.

DSC_0412

Add the candied walnuts on top and then toss with enough dressing to coat lightly. Enjoy!

Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts // Warm Vanilla Sugar

Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese and Candied Walnuts
Recipe adapted from Shutterbean
Serves 4

Ingredients:
Candied walnuts:
1/3 cup golden brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons butter
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups walnut halves

Salad:
5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 5-ounce packages baby arugula
1 5-ounce packages soft goat cheese, broken into 1/2-inch pieces, chilled
4 tablespoons of packaged croutons (I used honey-butter flavour)

Directions:
For candied walnuts:
DO AHEAD: Can be made the day before or 1 hour ahead.
Combine first 4 ingredients in a heavy large skillet. Bring to boil, whisking. Boil 1 minute. Add walnuts; stir. Toss until syrup forms glaze on nuts, about 3 minutes. Transfer nuts to sheet of foil sprayed with oil and quickly separate nuts with fork. Cool.

For salad:
Whisk oil and vinegar in small bowl. Season dressing with salt and pepper.

Place arugula in large bowl. Drop in nuts, croutons, and goat cheese. Toss with enough dressing to coat lightly. Enjoy!

Comments

  1. I love candied walnuts on salads!

  2. This salad has all of my favorites!

  3. I thought this was Poutine at first glance, then I saw it was a beautiful salad with my favorite ingredients – arugula, goat cheese and balsamic. Yum!

  4. oh yes. those walnuts look delicious. right up my alley!

  5. Oh, those walnuts are making me crave salad! So yummy!

  6. this salad looks sooooo good! what a brilliant recipe. I’m looking forward to your new segments

  7. ooh, this salad looks perfect! Goat cheese on a salad is one of my favorite things to eat :)

  8. Good luck with the running! I ran Boston last April (in 90 degree heat!) it was brutal! I hope you find a good flat race to qualify at! This salad looks fantastic and I just so happen to have all the ingredients on hand!

  9. Oooh, candied walnuts? Goat cheese? I’m in!

  10. Candied walnuts are so expensive… thanks for sharing this! I’m sure I could cut some cost by making them myself :)

  11. Good luck on qualifying for Boston!!! I did once…and never will again. :P but at least I can say that I did.

    this salad is exactly the kind that gets me excited. Candied walnuts, for the win!

  12. I have had this salad (or something similar to this) at restaurants and have always wanted to recreate this at home. Looks beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Recipe I Made: This fabulous […]

Leave a comment