Christmas Baking – Butterscotch Marshmallow Squares

I don’t know why I don’t just pretend it’s Christmas every month. I’m having so much fun!! I wake up, turn on some good Christmas oldies (Tony Bennett’s “I’ve got my love to keep me warm” is on currently) and get to baking. It’s heaven in my kitchen every day. My hands smell like brown sugar and butter, and I have butterscotch on my cheek with no worries.

This recipe, is an old one from my Great Aunt. I remember several Christmas goodies that she made, but these Butterscotch squares were my favorite. If my six year old self would have known how easy these were, she would have been a butterball herself.

First add your butter to a saucepan over medium heat.

Add your butterscotch chips.

Add your peanut butter.

Let them melt together and then take your pot off of the heat. Let mixture cool down a little for about 8 minutes.

Get 2 cups of mini marshmallows ready and add them to the butterscotch mixture.

Mix together melted ingredients with marshmallows, and place in a 9 x 9-inch square pan. Cool in the refrigerator (about 3 hours).

When the butterscotch goodness is ready, cut it into 16 squares and enjoy.

Ingredients:
½ cup butter
1 cup peanut butter
2 small or 1 large pkgs of butterscotch chips
2 cups of mini marshmallows

Directions:
1. Melt butter, peanut butter, and butterscotch chips together in a saucepan over medium heat.
2. Mix together melted ingredients with marshmallows, and place into a 9 x 9-inch square pan.
3. Refrigerate for approximately 3 hours.
4. Cut into squares and enjoy! These will keep for up to a week in the fridge. You can freeze them too :)

Comments

  1. Helen Stewart says:

    Looks like you have Aunt Mrytles recipe down pat. I can smell and taste them from here. So glad your our next “goodie” chef is coming up. Your blog is excellent , colorful and the pictures make the recipe so appealing.

  2. These look amazing! I’ll have to break open a jar of SunButter and give them a try!

  3. I can only imagine how delicious these bars are! I’m with you on baking – it’s the best way to embrace the holiday season :).

  4. These look amazing!! I am going to make these real soon! My kids would devour em!

  5. Oh, Katrina, that does sound like heaven, waking up to Christmas music and a kitchen full of possibilities! These marshmallow squares look like the perfect treat to get me in a good mood – Great job on them! Thanks for sharing, and merry Christmas to you!

  6. Wow, these sound fantastic! Where did you get the butterscotch chips? I can never get a hold of them…
    PS – I’m hosting a sweet giveaway on my blog. Check it out if you’re interested :)

  7. Oh yum!! could eat myself silly when it comes to butterscotch. Something about the flavor is instantly comforting. These look wonderful!

  8. I don’t think I’ve ever seen butterscotch chips before. Fun!

    Christmas oldies are the best!

  9. Oh my goodness, these are just sinful. Being a bad girl is always more fun anyway. I need to get my greedy little hands on these XD.

  10. Oooooh these sound so good!!!

  11. crustabakes says:

    These sound sinfully delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Pecan Pie Bars Chocolate and Peanut Butter Dreams Butterscotch Marshmallow Squares Easy Lemon Crumb Bars Nanaimo Bars by Baked Bree. Eggnog Cheesecake Bars by Brown Eyed Baker […]

Leave a comment