Christmas Baking – Buckeyes

WARNING if you want to consume mass amounts of peanut butter and chocolate immediately this post is not for you. You must let the dough set for a couple of hours in the fridge before the chocolate dipping begins. Life is hard.

It’s Christmas baking time. I have been thinking and re-thinking my baking list non-stop this year. I’m. So. Excited!! Every post this month will be something from my Christmas baking list. The list I have contains easy recipes that I bake every year for the holidays, all of which are freezable. For my first post I thought I’d share my Buckeye recipe with you. This recipe comes from my sister’s Grandma (yes, my parents are divorced) who bakes up a storm every year.

To begin, grab some peanut butter (2 cups to be exact).

Put that peanut butter in a bowl along with 4 1/2 cups of icing sugar, a stick of butter, and 1 tsp of vanilla.

Mix all the ingredients together and put your bowl in the fridge. Yes, I switched bowls (this one was smaller for my fridge).

Now is the sad part – you have to wait to roll the peanut butter goodness into balls. I always make this recipe the night before the chocolate dipping, but if you like things done NOW, it’s ok! You can refrigerate the dough for 4 hours or so, and it is still fine. Once you have waited for your dough to cool, you can roll it into 1-inch balls. Set them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper and insert a toothpick into each ball.

Now you have to wait again. Really? Yes, really. You want perfect buckeyes remember?! Chill your balls (tee hee) in the freezer until hard, approximately 30 minutes. While the dough is in the freezer melt your chocolate chips and shortening over medium heat. Remove the pan from heat.

Dip balls in chocolate and place back on cookie sheet.

Refrigerate (again) until chocolate is set, approximately 2 hours. And now, the good part. Eat your heart out beautiful. You deserve it.



Grandma’s Buckeye’s
Makes 40 peanut butter balls

Ingredients:
Balls
2 cups peanut butter
4 1/2 cups icing sugar
½ cup (1 stick) butter
1 tsp vanilla

Chocolate dip
4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup shortening

Directions:
1. Mix together the “balls” ingredients, and refrigerate overnight, or for at least 4 hours.
2. Roll dough into 1-inch balls. Set them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper and insert a toothpick into each ball. Chill in freezer until hard, approximately 30 minutes.
3. Melt chocolate chips and shortening over medium heat. Remove the pan from heat. Dip balls in chocolate and place back on cookie sheet. Refrigerate until chocolate is set, approximately 2 hours.

Comments

  1. Helen Stewart says:

    Sure looks good and easy to make , if you are a patient gal. What isn’t worth waiting for????

  2. Yummy! I really need to get out my Ohio born and raised mother-in-law’s recipe for Buckeyes…just love ’em!

  3. First time I ever had Buckeyes was a few years ago & they are so wonderfully addictive!! xo

  4. Ooo very cute. Love the name and it looks yummilicious!

  5. Those look sooo good(: I love the name! They look pretty fun to make too, thanks for the step by step pictures.

  6. I’ve been wanting to make these for years. But haven’t for fear I may consume an entire batch, in 1 sitting. Screw it, I have to make them! Your sisters grandma, sounds like my family “This is my grandpa’s wife, and no, she’s not my grandma.”

  7. I’ve always wanted to make buckeyes! Peanut butter and chocolate is my all-time favorite combo. I’ll have to try these soon.

Trackbacks

  1. […] When I want a giant tub of peanut butter to make Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cookies, or Buckeyes, I can’t just run to the nearest Superstore and buy it! Everything here is closed on Sundays […]

  2. […] Puppy Chow Buckeyes Oreo Balls by How Sweet It Is Salted Butter Caramels by Our Kitchen Rum Balls by My Baking […]

Leave a comment