Nanny’s Butterscotch Pie

Oh my, Beautiful Butterscotch Pie.

My Nanny (another word for Grandmother in my family) makes the best butterscotch pie going. Since I was little I remember finishing my dinner quickly, and sitting patiently at the table until it was pie time. Butterscotch pie only comes out at special occasions like Thanksgiving and Christmas, and when it does I go wild for it. WILD I tell you. I could eat a whole pie and be completely content.

Since Thanksgiving (Canadian of course) is coming up, I thought I’d share my favorite dessert with you. A dessert that really means something to me. It reminds me of family, and how happy a simple meal could make us when I was a child. It reminds of a time when I wasn’t constantly worrying about scholarships and deadlines. This dessert is special to me, my favorite, and I hope you like it :)

First, prepare your crust in a 9-inch pie pan. My favorite pie crust recipe is by the Pioneer Woman, and I use it for ALL of my pies and most of my tarts. This filling recipe makes enough for one pie, so double the recipe if you need to make two.

To prepare the filling, separate your eggs, lightly beat yolks and set aside the whites (you’ll use these for the meringue later). In a double boiler, whisk together all of the filling ingredients until smooth. Cook over medium heat until thickened. Remove from heat and pour into your pre-baked pie shell.

Once you’ve poured your amazing concoction into your pie shell, you can start your meringue.

Immediately spread the meringue over the hot filling, anchoring it to the edge of the crust at all points. Place meringue VERY close to the crust, working inward.

Bake for 20 minutes (or until meringue has a nice brown top) at 350 degrees F. Let it cool on a wire rack and serve!

Nanny’s Butterscotch Pie
Makes filling for one 9-inch pie

Ingredients:
Perfect Pie Crust
1. Get the recipe and directions here.

Filling:
1 cup brown sugar
4 HEAPING tbsp all purpose flour
2 egg yolks
2 cups milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp butter

Meringue:
2 large egg whites (1/2 cup), at room temperature
1/8 tsp cream of tartar
1/4 cup superfine sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp vinegar

Directions:
1. Prepare your crust in a 9-inch pie pan, and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2.To prepare the filling, separate your eggs, lightly beat yolks and set aside the whites (you’ll use these for the meringue later). In a double boiler, whisk together all of the filling ingredients until smooth. Cook over medium heat until thickened. Remove from heat and pour into your pre-baked pie shell.

3. To prepare meringue:
a) In a clean, grease free glass or metal bowl, beat egg whites on medium speed until foamy.
b) Add cream of tartar and beat until soft but definite peaks form.
c) Very gradually beat in sugar. Beat on high speed until the peaks are stiff and glossy, but not dry.
d) Add vanilla and vinegar.
e) Immediately spread the meringue over a hot pie filling, anchoring it to the edge of the crust at all points. Place meringue VERY close to the crust, working inward.

4. Bake for 20 minutes (or until meringue has a nice brown top), and cool on a wire rack.
5. Serve and enjoy!

*The pie can be stored for up to three days in the refridgerator.

Comments

  1. This looks amazingly decadent! Yum!

  2. I love love LOVE butterscotch! This is going on my must try list!

  3. Oh wow this looks so creamy and delicious. I wish I had a slice right now 8).

  4. A wonderful looking combination of beautiful and delicious that I can’t wait to try.

  5. Sounds lovely . . . I don’t blame you for going wild!

  6. This recipe is almost identical to the one my Mom had when I was growing up. A fresh Butterscotch Meringue pie is other-worldly!!

  7. That looks so good. I love the filling!

  8. rarely do I see butterscotch anything other than cookies…this sound incredibly rich and delicious!

  9. My son adores butterscotch! Maybe we will have to add this out our own Thanksgiving table this year as he is never a fan of the pumpkin that everyone else likes. I love it when a recipe brings memories like yours does. Thank so much for sharing with us!

  10. Mmm, I love butterscotch pie! I’ve been wanting to master my great-grandma’s recipe (which calls for amounts like a walnut-sized piece of butter), but my husband is not a fan of butterscotch, so I haven’t tried in a long time, but you’re making me crave it. :)

  11. I’m going to be honest, I’ve never even heard of butterscotch pie. But, it does sound (and look) amazing!

  12. Reminds me of my grandmother’s butterscotch pie! Oh, so good!

  13. Just found your blog and had to say WOW! That looks delicious. :D

  14. My grandfather’s 85th birthday is coming up and I’ve been searching for something to bring to the party. This may just be it!

  15. This sounds and looks fabulous! I LOVE family recipes!

  16. this is beautiful! how did i not find your blog earlier??? amazing.

  17. This looks so yummy, Katrina! Butterscotch is one of those great comfort food tastes. Thanks for sharing. :-)

  18. wow that looks delicious! i love butterscotch anything!

  19. Mmmm, this sounds delicious!

  20. The name alone…nanny’s butterscotch pie…is drool-worthy. And then the pictures, well, words fail me. YUM!

  21. What a nice altrenative to the other cream pies out there.

  22. Looks gourgeus my mouth has already started watering as it looks so irressistable.

  23. Oh, this dish looks fabulous! I love the picture too! If you’re interested, you should submit it to Recipe4Living’s Tasty Thanksgiving Recipe Contest :)

  24. Never had butterscotch pie before. This was awesome!!!! I can’t eat anything with gluten so I replaced the flour with cornstarch and I think it was every bit as good.

  25. Great butterscotch pie recipe. I was even able to make it gluten free.

  26. Buttescotch pie sounds utterly amazing!

  27. Looks fantastic – and you have two! Could you spare one? :)

  28. My Mom use to make the best butterscotch pie & my wife, bless her heart tried but it came out like glue. My mom has been gone for serveral years now & I miss her. I traveled home from Italy one year & guess what was on the table waiting for me. I hope this recipe brings back memories of her.

    • Oh wow, in Italy of all places! When I visited Italy, I certainly didn’t taste anything like it, but boy would I be happy to have a treat like that!! I love this recipe, it’s my Nanny’s and really is my favorite. Hopefully you like it.

  29. What a gorgeous pie, Katrina! I’m not a big fan of butterscotch but this sounds insanely delicious.

  30. Wow. That looks and sounds amazing! In the UK at school we used to get butterscotch tart for dessert, and when I stumbled upon this while looking for a recipe all I could think was “God has answered my prayers! He has combined my two favorite desserts in the world!” Thank you sooo much for this recipe! btw, you need to beat your meringue a bit more before you put it in the oven, it should be smooth and really glossy and sticky :) But I’m sure it still tasted delicious ;)

Trackbacks

  1. […] 2. Vanilla Fudge 3. Apple crisp 4. Butter Tarts 5. Homeade Pizza 6. Ginger Molasses Cookies 7. Nanny’s Butterscotch Pie 8. Cinnamon buns 9. Sushi 10. Blueberry […]

  2. […] Fall Desserts: This Butterscotch Pie is the most popular post on my blog AND my personal favorite recipe on here. Go […]

  3. […] Apple Dutch Pie Caramel Apple Pie Salted Caramel Pie Caramel Pumpkin Pie Chocolate Pecan Pie Butterscotch Pie Maple Buttermilk Pie Spiced Apple and Pear Pie Enjoy trying some new homemade fall pies  to warm […]

Leave a comment