Traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve recently returned from a 2 month tour of Europe. The food in every country I visited (Switzerland, France, Italy, Spain, and England) was amazing, and each country had it’s own special meal that I’m now finding myself missing very much. I spent most of my time (half my trip in fact) in Switzerland, seeing the sights, and trying as much food as I possibly could. I fell in love. Traditional Swiss food is simple, plain, and very tasty. It’s no lie that the Swiss eat a lot of cheese, and probably because they make the best. Say what you want. I tried the famous cheeses in France, tasted cheddar cheese from Cheddar, but Swiss Gruyere cheese is Mmm-mmm-good!

And MELTED Gruyere cheese? Even better. Luckily, during my stay in Switzerland I got to know many of the locals. One man in particular would often make traditional meals like Raclette, various pasta bakes and potato dishes, and of course traditional Swiss Fondue.

I simply couldn’t leave Switzerland without knowing how to make Fondue. The secret? You need the right cheese. Gruyere and Vacherin. Yeah baby. This recipe will serve a crowd of 6 for an appetizer, but double the recipe to make a main meal! It’s super easy, and you won’t regret it :) First, grate the scrumptious cheese.

Then get your garlic, onions and mushrooms together in a saucepan. Add the wine and grappa, stir in the cheese and transfer the yummy hot cheese mixture into your fondue pot.

Serve with cubed dipping bread, and eat the night away. Don’t expect regular bowel movement after this…for serious :P

This recipe serves 6 people for an appetizer-sized meal. Double/triple the recipe to make it a main.

Ingredients:
-Rustic bread for dipping, cut into cubes (if it’s a fresh loaf, I recommend cutting it up a few hours ahead and letting it sit out so it hardens a bit and is less likely to fall off the fondue forks into the cheese)
-1/2 pound Gruyere cheese
-1/2 pound Vacherin cheese
-2 tbsp all-purpose flour
-1 tsp butter
-1/2 large onion
-1 clove garlic
-1 cup DRY white wine
-1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced very thinly (optional)
-2 tbsp Swiss Grappa (optional)
-dash of pepper

Directions:
1. Grate the cheese and toss the cheese with the 2 tablespoons flour in a large bowl.
2. In a large saucepan melt butter. Add chopped garlic and onions and fry until the onions start turn glossy and clear. Add mushrooms and fry for another 2 minutes.
3. Add the wine and grappa to the saucepan and bring it to a boil over medium heat.
4. Lower the heat to medium low, and stir in the cheese 1/2 cup at a time until it is pretty much melted. Add the pepper.
5. Pour hot cheese mixture into fondue pots and serve with yummy dipping bread.

Comments

  1. I’m a huge fan of cheese fondue and have wonderful memories of eating crazy amounts of it as a child. My favorite part is the crust the cheese forms at the bottom of the pot when almost all the fondue has been gobbled up. Comfort food at its best. Love your blog!

    • You’re so lucky to have had it a kid! We only had chocolate fondue in my house (not complaining) and wasn’t introduced to cheese fondue until I went to Europe!! I’m so happy I know how to make it now. It will be a staple in my home!

  2. This looks fabulous. I sadly have yet to try cheese fondue…so little time, so much to eat!

  3. Oh goodness does this look amazing, wow! I need to get out the fondue pot and try this!!

  4. Mmmmm melted cheese. Doesn’t get any better than that!

  5. This sounds delicious! Holy Yum!

  6. Um, this looks like my cheesey heaven!!! YUM!

  7. I think I just drooled on my keyboard. This looks fantastic!!

  8. ahhh! this looks delicious! as does everything else you make!

  9. Melted cheese, I’m in!!!! I will never get tired of fondue. I love a good fondue recipe :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] summer when I visited Switzerland I posted about two traditional Swiss meals – Swiss Cheese Fondue and Raclette. The main ingredient in both recipes? Cheese of […]

  2. […] Cheese fondue was something I had a little too much of, and it still makes me drool thinking about. It’s a great way to enjoy Swiss cheese with bread, and is unbelievably tasty. […]

Leave a Reply

