Marathon Cookies

I’m currently training for the Ottawa half marathon on May 30th. What is a half marathon? It is a 21.1 km (13.2 mile) run that requires intense training. Luckily, I love running and also LOVE the training that goes along with it. Maybe it’s because of the “runners high” I get during, and after every long run. The runners high is the effect of endorphins that are released during long, continuous workouts. Gotta love natural drugs!

Because I run so often, and for so long, I constantly need to be re-fueling my body with essential nutrients and sugars. Not chocolate bar sugars, but natural sugars such as fruit. Check out these dates!

My boyfriend’s aunt had us over for dinner recently and afterwards came out with a giant plate of amazing tasting baked goods. One of the many cookie-types to choose from on the platter was a cookie she called energy cookies. I totally understand why. These cookies were chalked full (and I mean FULL) of dried fruits and nuts. So clearly I asked her for the recipe.

The base of the cookie is so scrumptious, and the nuts and fruit are perfect to fill your body with energy after a long run, walk, or hike. I also brought these cookies camping recently, and they were perfect.

Why did I change the name to “Marathon Cookies”? Because I’ve been eating them after my long training days, and will certainly be eating them after my big day. The cookies freeze perfectly. Wish me luck!

Ingredients:
1 lb dates, chopped
1/2 lb dried apricots, chopped
1/2 lb dried cranberries, chopped
1/2 lb raisons
1/2 lb dried pineapple
1/2 lb almonds, chopped
1 cup butter
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
2 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp each of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl mix together dates, apricots, cranberries, raisons, pineapple, and almonds.
2. In a separate large bowl cream butter and sugar together. Add the eggs one at a time.
3. In another separate medium bowl combine flour, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, salt, and baking soda.
4. Mix together creamed mixture with flour mixture until well combined. Add in dried fruit and almonds. The mixture will be very “chunky” and this is A-OK. You want it this way.


5. Spoon by tablespoonfuls onto a greased cookie tray.


6. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack.

Comments

  1. These look so good. My hubby will love them – he will use them as ‘fuel. :)

  2. We will be wishing you more than GOOD LUCK. We will be there cheering you on. Maybe you could share some of these energy bites with us as we will be cheering you on and will need energy waiting for you to arrive at the end. LOL :)

  3. These look great!!!! And yes, the almond bark does stay hard. Hmm…I wonder why yours didn’t?

  4. Healthy cookies? What a perfect combination. Best of luck with your marathon, I have so much respect for the discipline required!

  5. those look delicious! love the idea of an energy cookie instead of a bar.

  6. These look fabulous!

Trackbacks

  1. […] try one of these: Pumpkin Cranberry Granola Bars Energy-Packed Granola Bars Marathon Cookies <—My favorite! Green Monster Smoothie by Oh she […]

Leave a comment