Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Sometimes (maybe way too often) I like to reflect on my childhood – so simple. No honours thesis to hand in. No half marathon to train for. No job to go to. In grade school my biggest concern was being home on time for dinner.

Remember the days when you could bring peanut butter to school? It really wasn’t that long ago. I have ALWAYS loved peanut butter. My favorite candy bar in grade school was always Reese’s peanut butter cups. I liked that there were three cups so that I could trade my friends for other candies at lunch.

And now that I’m older I still love peanut butter cups. The ratio of chocolate to peanut butter in the Reese’s candy bar is perfect.

Look at that goodness! So, when I was browsing the Taste of Home website I was tickled to see they had a post for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cookies! Awesome.

Let’s bake ’em!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped peanut butter cups (about four packages)

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In a large bowl, cream the butter, peanut butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
3. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.
4. Stir in chocolate chips and peanut butter cups.

5. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto ungreased baking sheets.


6. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Cool for 2 minutes before removing to wire racks.

Comments

  1. Mmm one of my favorite candies in a cookie! Yum!

  2. Katherine says:

    Are these overly sweet???

  3. They have the same sweetness as a chocolate chip cookie! If you want to cut some of the sweetness, you could cut the chocolate chips completely :)

  4. Katherine says:

    Oh good idea! Thanks for the recipe :)

  5. I made these last night… They came out great! I ate too many :(

  6. Just finished making them. As you would know Poppa loved them. Cookies don’t last to long here.

  7. How many cookies does this recipe make????

  8. I made these this morning and will definitely make them again. My husband and I have decided, though, that next time we absolutely must use dark chocolate Reese’s.

  9. I love these cookies! I used Honey Roasted Peanut Butter and no Choc Chips, it tasted fab! Thanks for the recipe!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] are a bit different here in Switzerland. When I want a giant tub of peanut butter to make Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cookies, or Buckeyes, I can’t just run to the nearest Superstore and buy it! Everything here is […]

Leave a Reply

