Cinnamon Sugar Apple Cake

After only 1 week back to school somehow I’m swimming in assignments already. But busy is a good thing, and with a to-do list ten pages long, things are getting done!

Besides organizing school and work, since being back from Costa Rica I’ve began marathon training, made my 2012 goals for baking (I’ll share these soon), and had to remember how to play the guitar for my guitar lessons. It’s surprising how easy it is to forget how to play! Especially since I’m a beginner. I blame all those cute monkeys outside my lodge!!

Even though I’m busy I can’t complain. In a way, it can keep you sain despite what many people say. I think as long as I’m organized, things will get done. And then I can enjoy the time I have doing things I really like! This cake made my extremely happy. It came together in no time, was delicious, and totally freezable! I made this as a dessert, and then ate this baby for breakfast for a few days after that. I think anything with warm apples is bound to make me swoon. It’s just how I am!

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. To prepare the apples, peel them and slice them into about 1/4 inch thick slices and place them into a large bowl. Pour the sugar over the apples and give them a quick toss with your hands and then add the lemon juice. Let the apples and the sugar sit for about 30 minutes.

This process with soften the apples and the sugar will become liquid.

Add the vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla to the apple mixture and stir together with a spoon.

In another bowl add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and cloves.

Mix together until the baking soda and spices are evenly distributed through the dry ingredients mixture.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and combine with a spoon carefully until the dry mixture is just incorporated.

Spray a 9×9 baking dish with baking spray. Transfer the batter into the baking dish.

Bake in a preheated oven for 50-55 minutes, or until a knife can be inserted in the center and comes out clean.

Cool cake on a wire rack to cool completely and then dig in! You can serve this with whipped cream, ice cream, or add some frosting. All are great choices!

Cinnamon Apple Cake
Adapted from Whats Gaby Cooking

Ingredients:
4 cups sliced and peeled apple (I used Honey Crisps, but you could easily use Granny Smith or Gala apples)
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves

Frosting recipe here!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

To prepare the apples, peel and core about 4 apples. Slice them into about 1/4 inch thick slices and place them into a large bowl. Pour the sugar over the apples and give them a quick toss with your hands and then add the lemon juice. Let the apples and the sugar hang out for about 30-45 minutes. This process with soften the apples and the sugar will become liquid.

Add the vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla to the apple mixture and stir together with a spoon.

In another bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and cloves. Mix together until the baking soda and spices are evenly distributed through the dry ingredients mixture. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and combine with a spoon carefully until the dry mixture is just incorporated.

Spray a 9×9 baking dish with baking spray. Transfer the batter into the baking dish and bake in a preheated oven for 50-55 minutes, or until a knife can be inserted in the center and comes out clean.

Serve with freshly whipped cream, frosting or ice cream. Enjoy!

Comments

  1. Just came home from church and it’s -30 here at the river. So guess what I’m making so I can have the oven on and warm up the kitchen. Poppa will love the cake with ice cream of course and a hot cup of coffee.Good choice. <3

  2. Yum! This cake looks delicious and a great way to sneak some fruit into my toddler! Can’t wait to try it out!

  3. This looks so delicious and comforting. Yum!

  4. it looks delicious! I can imagine how it smells

  5. This cake looks very good. I like apples in baked goods – especially with some warming spices.

  6. I am drooling over this cake. It looks too good.

    You do know I’m going to have to RUN to my kitchen to make this now, don’t you? ;)

  7. It’s so cold here in VA today. I’m so wishing I had this yummy cake to warm up my house and make it smell delicious!

  8. I very much like apple cinnamon cakes, your looks amazing.

  9. This will be perfect this weekend when my son is staying with me!

  10. Mmm apple desserts are one of my favorites (next to chocolate haha). Your cake looks amazing and I love the frosting on top! YUM! :)

  11. Im such a sucker for any kind of apple cake. This looks simple & absolutely delicious!

    Good luck with your training!!

  12. tasty cake! i much prefer apples in cake then pie :)

  13. I’m so glad I found your site! This cinnamon sugar apple cake looks divine! I love your photos of the process as well. Thanks for sharing! Have a good one =]

  14. Awwww those monkeys are SO cute! Costa Rica seems like a great vacation spot.

    Love the sound of this cake, and that it looks really simple to throw together too – bonus :)

  15. yum, looks wonderful, I love apples in cake :)

  16. I dabbled in guitar playing in college and since leaving for med school have forgotten ALL of it. I really want to get back into it!

    Yay for marathon training and delicious cakes for breakfast! Which marathon are you running?

  17. Looks amazing and super warming!

  18. This sounds so cozy! Perfectly seasonal. Nice to know it freezes well too! :)

  19. The monkeys bring back memories of my Costa Rica adventures 10 years ago. Fabulous recipe, too!

  20. I love anything with apples, and this cake looks perfect!!

  21. This cake looks delicious and you totally just gave me permission to eat cake for breakfast so I’m down!

  22. This is an amazing-looking cake! I love anything caramel apple, and this one looks so moist and fluffy. Great post Katrina!

  23. There’s nothing better than cake!! Mmmm….

  24. This looks like heaven. Heaven!

  25. Gorgeous and delicious, I’m sure! You can’t go wrong with warm apples. And those monkeys… too cute!

  26. This sounds fabulous! Apples and cinnamon-sugar are meant for each other! !

  27. Look at this cake! Yum. I am going to have to try this soon.

  28. pretty sure i’d eat this for breakfast!! :) love the apple-cinnamon combo!

  29. That looks so delicious! I’ve been craving cinnamon cake like WHOA, and I can’t wait to give this a whirl this weekend. I also can’t wait to read more about your marathon training. I just found your blog and am so excited to follow it! Amazing food and running inspiration? What’s not to love?

  30. I love baked apples too! This sounds lovely for breakfast!

  31. This is as comforting as dessert can get. Wish I was enjoying a piece (or 2) right now.

Leave a comment