Two Potato Chili and Cumin Gratin

Did someone say October? Good, because this month is my favorite.

When I think of October I think of fall colours, cute boots, and the first hints of rosy cheeks. I start getting excited for pumpkin sweets, tea, and comfort food. But most importantly a lot of great “life” things happen this month.

October is the month of my boy’s birthday, our dating anniversary, and our soon to be wedding anniversary. It’s the time of year where we get to go hiking amongst the changing leaves and not sweat every ounce of water we drink. Overall, it’s good. It’s the month I look forward to every year, and by far my favorite season to cook in.

Here is a recipe for potato gratin made with sweet potatoes, white potatoes, cheese, and a creamy chili-cumin flavour to kick it up. I highly recommend this dish, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Whisk together all of the ingredients except the potato slices. Make a layer of potato and sweet potato slices in a deep 9 x 13-inch baking dish.

Pour over some of the cream mixture.

Repeat until all of the ingredients are used up.

I like to add some cheese on top at the end – it’s a good idea. Cover with aluminium foil and bake at 350°C for 35-45 minutes.

Remove the foil and continue to bake until golden brown. Allow to rest for at least 10 minutes before serving….then devour!

Two Potato, Chilli and Cumin Gratin
Recipe taken from K.O Rasoi
(Serves 4-6)

Ingredients
3 medium potatoes (500g), peeled and sliced thinly
3 medium sweet potatoes (500g), peeled and sliced thinly
1 1/4 cups half and half (or heavy cream)
60g cheddar cheese
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp lemon zest
1 tsp chilli powder
1 clove garlic
1 tsp salt or to taste
¼ tsp ground black pepper
¼ tsp garam masala

Directions:
1. Whisk together all of the ingredients except the potato slices.

2. Make a layer of potato and sweet potato slices in a deep 9 x 13-inch baking dish and pour over some of the cream mixture. Repeat until all of the ingredients are used up.

3. Cover with aluminium foil and bake at 350°F for 35-45 minutes.

4. Remove the foil and continue to bake until golden brown. Allow to rest for at least 10 minutes before serving.

5. Grab a spoon and devour.

Comments

  1. Oh my word, that looks like the BEST comfort food ever! Love the combination of potatoes.

  2. What a perfect dish for those dark fall days where you end up sipping hot tea inside as it rains outside. And so ORANGE!

  3. I love gratin and never thought to add sweet potatoes to it. Great idea! And I too love hiking in this gorgeous Fall weather!

  4. Such delicious flavours!

  5. this gratin looks amazing! I love the mixture of the potatoes!

  6. Combining sweet potatoes and white potatoes is so unique! Looks delicious!

  7. I love potatoes. It looks delicious!

  8. bakerbynature says:

    Love October! Love potatoes… this is perfect for all the cold nights ahead!

  9. I love a good potato gratin and I love even more that this version also has sweet potatoes in it! Major yum.

  10. I’m usually not a big potato person, but this gratin looks like an amazing dish and something I would be obsessed with. And it’s so pretty, too!

  11. That gratin looks scrumptious! I love the use of different potatoes in this recipe :)

Leave a Reply

