Skinny Peach Cobbler For One

Since I’m reducing my sugar intake over the next month to prepare for the Rock n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon, I thought I’d make a skinny version of peach crisp to calm my sugar craving. It can be the worst, and also peaches are AMAZING right now!

Training has been coming along, but I’ve decided that I need to switch things up a bit. So, after the half marathon I’m going to start training for a triathlon! I’ve done one before, but I took it slow since I didn’t know what I capable of yet and am super excited to start “shopping” for a race. Baking and racing – it’s what i’m all about.

This little cobbler is perfect if you’re trying to cut some sugar out of your diet without sacrificing flavour. My butter loving boy went crazy for this, my butter loving cat went crazy for this (but mostly just for the butter), and I devoured it needing to make it AGAIN to satisfy my craving. Perhaps these aren’t so skinny…

To make these preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Slice a peach in half and remove the pit. With a small spoon, scoop out the the dark red pit center, creating a bit more room for the crumble topping.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, salt, and coconut. Add butter and, with your fingers, work the butter into the dry ingredients.

Quickly break up the butter until it is well combined.

Place peach halves, cut side up, in a small, oven-safe dish. Top each peach half with a generous portion of crumble topping. Heap it on!

Bake for 20 minutes, until topping is golden brown. Remove from the oven and serve warm with vanilla ice cream or cold milk. Delicious!

Easy Peach Cobbler For One
Recipe lightly adapted from Joy The Baker
Serves 1-2

Ingredients:
1 ripe peach (not over ripe!)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
3 tablespoons old-fashioned oats
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 tablespoon toasted coconut
2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed

Directions:
Place a rack in the center of the oven, and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Slice a peach in half and remove the pit. With a small spoon, scoop out the the dark red pit center, creating just a bit more room for the crumble topping.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, salt, and coconut. Add butter and, with your fingers, work the butter into the dry ingredients. Quickly break up the butter until it is well combined. Some of the butter bits will be the size of oat flakes, others will be the size of small peas.

Place peach halves, cut side up, in a small, oven-safe dish. Top each peach half with a generous portion of crumble topping. Heap it on!

Bake for 20 minutes, until topping is golden brown. Remove from the oven and serve warm with vanilla ice cream or cold milk. Peaches are best served warm from the oven.

Comments

  1. Pinned! This is exactly what I need in my life right now. Thank you!!!!

  2. This is genius! Speaking as someone who has had entirely too much ice cream and not enough running in her life lately, I need some skinnier dessert ideas to satisfy my sweet tooth.

  3. Love that they’re for one and the addition of coconut in the topping.

  4. Well I’m glad one of us is reducing her sugar intake for her upcoming race. :P Really, I need to get on that. I know my long runs would go so much better if I did! Peach cobbler for one sounds awesome! At least then I’d only eat one serving instead of five!

  5. Perfect dessert for one!!

  6. jen laceda says:

    I need to lose a few pounds, but I’m not YET willing to cut down my sugar intake (hehehe). However, this skinny peach cobbler seems like a good compromise! Yum!

  7. What a great recipe and dessert. It’s hard satisfying that sweet craving with something so healthy. Thanks for sharing and good luck with your training:)

  8. what a brilliant dessert! good luck with your half marathon!

  9. Oh, I love the coconut in the topping!

  10. oh yummy! i love small-serving recipes!

  11. what a great idea! Something tells me I should cut down on my sugar intake as well :)

  12. brilliant! i love peach cobbler but my husband isn’t wild about it, so this would be perfect for when i need my cobbler fix. yum!

  13. What a great idea – I wonder if you could do this with an apple as well?

  14. What a gorgeous, simple idea. I love peaches at this time of year…throw in some toasty oats and brown sugar and I’m totally sold!

  15. I love the idea of this! It’s semi healthy and still super delicious. Plus, I CANNOT get enough peaches lately!

    Sues

  16. I LOVE the idea of a skinny peach cobbler, and only one serving – perfect! This would definitely satisfy my sweet tooth lately. Great recipe, Katrina!

  17. I made this for myself (and I’m not ashamed to admit it!) after I tucked the kiddies into bed….Oh. My. Goodness. Wicked delicious! Perfect with a cup of tea on a cool, summer night. Thanks for sharing! XO

Leave a Reply

