Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

With all of this awesome rhubarb-ness going on at the farmers market I have already made TWO strawberry rhubarb pies this month. The one you see here, and another one with a crumble topping that I will post about later. My tummy is happy.

Fresh pie just screams summer to me. I love it, and find myself looking for excuses to make it.

Friend: “Oh hey Katrina, wanna go out for coffee tomorrow.”

Me: “Sure, that will probably require me to bake a pie.”

Strawberry rhubarb pie is my boyfriend’s absolute favorite pie. He’ll beg for it. He will go out of his way to find rhubarb, bring it home, place it in the frige, and mention nonchalantly “there’s rhubarb in the fridge if you’d like to bake something with it”.

Lucky for him I DO!

Although I loooove this pie, I personally prefer plain ol’ rhubarb pie, but if you’re like my man this pie is for you!!

To begin, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. On a well-floured counter, roll half of pie dough into a 12-inch circle and carefully transfer to a 9-inch pie plate.

Stir together rhubarb and strawberries….

…and juice that pretty lemon.

Stir together rhubarb, strawberries, sugars, lemon, salt and tapioca in a large bowl.

Mound filling inside bottom pie crust and dot with bits of unsalted butter.

Roll second half of pie dough into an 11-inch circle. Transfer it to center over the pie filling. Trim top and bottom pie dough so that their overhang beyond the pie plate lip is only 1/2-inch. Tuck rim of dough underneath itself and crimp it decoratively.

Brush egg yolk mixture over dough and cut slits into your pie.

Transfer pie to a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Then reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 25 to 30 minutes, until the pie is golden and the juices bubble visibly.

Transfer pie to wire rack to cool. When fully cooled (several hours later) the juices will gel.

Enjoy!

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie
Recipe taken from Smitten Kitchen
Makes 1 9-inch round pie

Ingredients:
1 recipe for double-crust pie dough (I always use the Pioneer Woman’s recipe)
3 1/2 cups (about 1 1/2 pounds, untrimmed) rhubarb, in 1/2-inch thick slices
3 1/2 cups (about 1 pound) strawberries, hulled and sliced if big, halved if tiny
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup quick-cooking tapioca
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1 large egg yolk beaten to blend with 1 teaspoon water (for glaze)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a well-floured counter, roll half of pie dough into a 12-inch circle and carefully transfer to a 9-inch pie plate.

Stir together rhubarb, strawberries, sugars, lemon, salt and tapioca in a large bowl. Mound filling inside bottom pie crust and dot with bits of unsalted butter. Roll second half of pie dough into an 11-inch circle and cut decorative slits in it. Transfer it to center over the pie filling. Trim top and bottom pie dough so that their overhang beyond the pie plate lip is only 1/2-inch. Tuck rim of dough underneath itself and crimp it decoratively.

Transfer pie to a baking sheet and brush egg yolk mixture over dough. Bake for 20 minutes then reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 25 to 30 minutes, until the pie is golden and the juices bubble visibly.

Transfer pie to wire rack to cool. When fully cooled (several hours later) the juices will gel.

Note: Pie should keep for up to three days at room temperature.

Comments

  1. I’m surprised you actually had time to snap a photo of the baked pie! It must be delicious!

  2. I’ve made a couple of strawberry rhubarb pies this month too! So yummy!

  3. oh wow, katrina, this looks sooo good. just picked up some more fresh local strawberries from our farmer’s market, so i may have to give this a try! =)

  4. This looks so delicious! One of my very favorite pies!

  5. Pie looks delicious – very impressive looking crust too!

  6. This is such a quintessential summer pie – it’s beautiful Katrina! Thanks for sharing. Also, I’m having a ChicWrap giveaway today that you should enter!

  7. What an absolutely gorgeous pie!

  8. what a beautiful pie! sounds so super delicious!

  9. “Tis the season for strawberries and rhubarb. This looks so good!

  10. Strawberry-rhubarb pie is my favorite pie of all time! Yours looks gorgeous!!

  11. Rhubarb is one of my very favorite things about spring but I’ve yet to find any this year. I need to remedy that pronto! Your pie has inspired me :)

  12. Catalina @ Cake with Love says:

    The strawberry and rhubard combo never gets old, this flavors just scream summer to me, I still have to bake my first pie this season!

  13. My husband has been wanting me to make a strawberry rhubarb pie. Your may be just the push I needed.

  14. I’m totally in love with this strawberry rhubarb combo. Bookmarking this for the weekend! The boyfriend is going to be thrilled!

  15. I love Rhubarb pie! Rhubarb season is just the best. I need to try your recipe.

  16. I have never baked with rhubarb but it is one of my Dad’s favorite pies. I’m inspired to try this one with strawberries. Thanks for the inspiration! It looks like the perfect dessert for a Memorial Day bbq.

  17. Although never had the chance to have a rhubarb pie, i know for a fact that my tummy isn’t as happy as yours.

  18. machisan says:

    i would love to have all of them.. i have never tried before.. but it sure looks good.

  19. Well you know I”m a major fan of strawberry rhubarb pie also! I need to make a double crust version. Double the crust = double the delicious.

  20. Rhubarb pie makes me think of summer…but your photos just make me hungry! Great post!

  21. This looks delicious! I just posted the Smitten Kitchen rhubarb coffee cake on Monday – I love the tartness of rhubarb, it is perfect for spring!

  22. OH! Honey! You and Smitten Kitchen both are evil! I will never have a beach body because I love all your post! And, of course, I have to try everything!

  23. Ive yet to try rhubarb, but I know I’d love it! This is a GOREGEOUS pie! That’s one lucky man you’ve got!

  24. This looks scrumptious. I’ll bet Reuben would love it – he really enjoys fruity desserts. :)

  25. O.M.G. this pie looks SO so good! I just went strawberry picking the other day too, so I’ve been looking for ways to use them up — this is PERFECT! And a plus side to make this gorgeous pie is that my husband is not a huge Strawberry Rhubarb fan, so I get it all to myself! ;)

  26. This looks scrumptious! I love the combination of rhubarb and strawberries and love making them into a crumble. But a pie looks and sounds so comforting!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Strawberry Rhubarb Pie – Warm Vanilla Sugar […]

  2. […] at this stuff though: It would never have occurred to me to dress up greek yogurt this way. My uncle’s favorite… his birthday is the only time Grandma makes this one. This is the one I will most likely try.  For […]

  3. […] couldn’t be happier, and with that, thought I’d share with you another rhubarb pie. A favorite. A beauty of a recipe. This will be the third on my blog! The streusel […]

Leave a Reply

