Banana Walnut Oatmeal

Breakfast is one of those meals where I usually stick to the same thing. I love smoothies, and tend to have one every day of the week (and make them while my darling boyfriend is trying to sleep). It’s a habit.

Now don’t get me wrong, I looooove breakfast foods, I just don’t seem to make enough of them. My bookmark list of breakfast items is exploding and I have decided that from today on, I’m going to try new and exciting breakfasts a few times a week. Starting with this oatmeal. It’s simple, it’s delicious, and it’s something that makes me want to start a new breakfast habit of only oatmeal…but I won’t. I WILL be making this again though. It’s so scrumptious, and I know you’ll like it too!

To make this, mash up your banana.

Then place water, milk, banana, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar (or maple syrup) in a medium-sized saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Stir in oats.

Simmer over medium heat for 8 minutes or until desired thickness. Stir in walnuts just before serving.

Enjoy!

Banana Walnut Oatmeal
Recipe taken from Kitchen Simplicity
Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup water
1/2 cup milk (I used 1%)
1 banana, mashed
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
pinch salt
2 tablespoons brown sugar (or maple syrup)
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
Extra brown sugar for topping

Directions:
Place water, milk, banana, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar (or maple syrup) in a medium-sized saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Stir in oats. Simmer over medium heat for 8 minutes or until desired thickness. Stir in walnuts just before serving.

Comments

  1. WIsh I had made THIS for breakfast!!

  2. I love unique oatmeal…it’s the only way that I will eat it. I like lots of bananas in mine!

  3. I tend to get into breakfast ruts too but for me it’s granola and yogurt with fruit. This oatmeal looks wonderful, like pure comfort!

  4. Wish I had that in my bowl right now. Happy Monday!

  5. I definitely feel like I’m in a breakfast rut, this is a great alternative.

  6. Ooh yum, this looks gloriously thick and delicious. Perfect comfort food for the chiller spring mornings :-)

  7. Mmmm, delicious! That’s the kind of oatmeal I’ll make next time

  8. I love oatmeal, but definitely need to start making it more often. I am so guilty of stopping at Starbuck’s a few days a week for theirs. This flavor combination sounds outstanding.

  9. I don’t care that it’s like 9 o’clock where I am…I totally want a bow of this RIGHT now…probably because I still haven’t had supper! :)

  10. I have the perfect banana for this recipe just chilling on top of my refrigerator. I think I know what I’m making for breakfast tomorrow!

  11. This is such a great combination. I think I’ll try it for breakfast tomorrow. :)

  12. We have breakfast for dinner more than breakfast for breakfast! :) I’m not normally huge oatmeal fan, but I think I’d actually like this!

  13. I am SUCH a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast also! But for me it’s PB+J on an english muffin. :P I tend to experiment more with breakfast for dinner and this will certainly be going on the menu!

  14. Hey Katrina! Glad to stumbled on your blog..I really really love it!
    Your photos and your recipes looks amazing…
    I’m totally your new daily reader :)
    Congrats–very good job!
    xxxFiC.

  15. Definitely sold on a sweet oat breakfast like this one… banana and walnut is always a delicious combo!

  16. I love how flexible oatmeal is! You can do so much with it.. you should try them savoury.. its very different.

  17. What a great recipe for breakfast or a midday snack! This looks so warm and comforting, Katrina!

  18. Catalina @ Cake with Love says:

    I love oatmeal very much, I always keep some at my office desk and have it as an afetrnoon snack!

  19. This makes me wanna eat oatmeal for breakfast (which I don’t)…. what a perfect combination! yummm…..

Leave a Reply

