Gingerbread Granola

As much as I love trying out new things, I know what I like in granola. I like oats (obviously), almonds, honey, and sometimes raisins. It works for me.

But I recently stumbled upon this recipe for gingerbread granola and it caught my eye right away! It packs a spicy punch that reminds of of Christmas morning. Interesting choice with this warm weather we’ve been having, but I knew I needed to try it.

This goes great with plain or vanilla greek yogurt, milk, or ice cream. It’s such a nice switch-up to my regular granola and I love having it as a snack after a run. Speaking of which, I JUST finished a 10 km race! I finished in 46:48 – a personal best for a short 10 km race, so I’m ecstatic!

Anyway, back to granola! To make this whisk together molasses, brown sugar, honey, and oil.

In a separate bowl mix salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, oats, raisins, coconut and nuts until evenly mixed.

Stir in molasses.

Spread onto two large rimmed baking sheets sprayed with baking spray. Bake at 325ºF for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until oats are golden brown (if cooking both sheets at once, swap positions half way through baking time).

Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container, and enjoy!

Gingerbread Granola
Makes 10 servings
Recipe lightly adapted from Kitchen Simplicity

Ingredients:
1/3 cup molasses
2 tablespoons canola oil
1/4 cup brown sugar (optional for extra sweetness)
1/4 cup honey
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup pecans (or walnuts), chopped
1/2 cup raisins

Directions:
Whisk together molasses, brown sugar, honey, and oil.

In a separate bowl mix salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, oats, raisins, coconut and nuts until evenly mixed. Stir in molasses.

Spread onto two large rimmed baking sheets sprayed with baking spray. Bake at 325ºF for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until oats are golden brown (if cooking both sheets at once, swap positions half way through baking time).

Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Comments

  1. Ooo yum once I get through the big batch of granola I made yesterday this may be next.

  2. These sounds really good, I would love to give it a try, since I have never tried to make granola at home.

  3. Gorgeous idea. I love the taste of ginger, even though Christmas is long gone, and can imagine this is wonderfully comforting to eat.

  4. This granola sounds great! Of course, now I sort of just want to bake a loaf of ginerbread too… :)

  5. What a lovely granola idea…sounds like it’d be great for cool weather…but oh well, I’m trying it this afternoon!

  6. This sounds great! I always love to make my own granola, and different variations are so fun. I love gingerbread. Mmm.

  7. Looks wonderful! I’ll have to keep this in mind for the holidays. :)

  8. Oh I love this! I’ll happily eat gingerbread flavours all year round so I really have to try this!

  9. What a fun set of flavors all packed in this granola. I was actually just craving granola so I will most definitely make these tonight! And it’s an added bonus that it gives off the feeling of Christmas morning :)

  10. I made this recipe around the holidays and gave bags of it away to friends and family. It’s such a fun treat!!

  11. Love this flavor profile. I always love granola and anything that’s all spiced up, so I’m sure this will be a winner! Can’t wait to get back to my kitchen to try it out and throw it on some vanilla yogurt!

  12. This looks fabulous, Katrina. I could so see myself sprinkling this over a bowl of yogurt or cereal. Wonderful recipe and a great gift idea for the holidays, too.

  13. Such a great way to start your day! This granola looks very powerful and tasty!

  14. Katrina, I LOVE granola. This has just been Evernoted in my breakfast notebook. I’m liking the spiciness of this – gingerbread – have never heard of and would have never thought of. Thanks for this post!

  15. This is such a fabulous idea! It would be just the perfect way to start the day.

  16. HELLO, that is an AMAZING time!! You seriously rocked that race!! I’m in awe. For real. This granola sounds majorly delicious. And if it makes every morning feel a little like Christmas morning…well that’s definitely a good thing.

  17. This recipe is calling my name!! I am a deep deep deeeeeepppp granola addict!! This is a good one, a really really good one. And on top of Greek Yogurt, ohh man – I’m going to be a happy little lady for a while :)

  18. I need to make my own granola! This looks amazing, I have yet to tackle it!

  19. Funny thing – I was just thinking this morning that I need to try making my own granola. This sounds awesome!

  20. This looks great! It looks beautiful in the glass jars :)

  21. I adore the unique flavors of gingerbread. This granola looks delicious and will definitely be a hit at my house. Beautiful photographs too! Delicious wishes :)

  22. wow this would make an amazing christmas breakfast! gorgeous photos too!

  23. Katrina, I am ALWAYS on the hunt for new granola recipes! I have 6 so far on my blog and have bookmarked several to make. I love having granola on hand for snacking or an easy breakfast. the possibilities and combos are endless! this one looks fab.. just delicious!

  24. Into it! I really, really wanted ginger in my granola but forgot to pick it up at the market. I love ginger!

Leave a Reply

