Rhubarb Muffins with Crumble Topping

When it comes to fruit muffins, I need a crumble topping. There’s something about the combination of melted butter, oats, brown sugar and cinnamon that makes me swoon. This topping alone will have you picking away at the muffins as they cool…trust me. It’s hard waiting!

I have quite a bit of rhubarb left over from last June still in my freezer, so recently I have been getting busy trying to use it up before this coming June gets here! There can never really be too much rhubarb though. It can be made into so many delicious things like cake, pie, spreads for toast, and other muffins. I adore baking with it, and you will too!

Tp begin, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Then, combine brown sugar, oil, egg, vanilla and buttermilk. Beat together well.

Add in rhubarb and stir. I used frozen rhubarb from last year.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder. Stir into the wet ingredients.

I love a good, thick, batter.

Fill greased muffin tins 2/3 full.

Mix together melted butter, sugar, oats, flour, and cinnamon. Press lightly on top of muffins.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack until the muffins have cooled completely.

Enjoy!

Rhubarb Muffins
Makes 18 muffins
A Warm Vanilla Sugar Original

Ingredients
Muffin Batter:
1-½ cup Brown Sugar
½ cups Vegetable oil
1 whole Egg
2 teaspoons Vanilla
1 cup Buttermilk
2 cups Chopped Rhubarb
2-½ cups Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
½ teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Baking Powder

Topping:
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup rolled oats
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine brown sugar, oil, egg, vanilla and buttermilk. Beat together well. Add in rhubarb and stir.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder. Stir into the wet ingredients.

Fill greased muffin tins 2/3 full.

Mix together melted butter, sugar, oats, flour, and cinnamon. Press lightly on top of muffins.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack until the muffins have cooled completely.

Enjoy!

Note: If you do not have buttermilk, combine 1 tablespoon of vinegar and milk to make 1 cup. Allow to stand for 5 minutes, stir and add to recipe.

Also, don’t forget to enter my Giveaway! Winners for the kitchen scale will be picked next Tuesday, March 19th and announced Wednesday.

Comments

  1. Lovely, I can’t get enough rhubarb and like you, I tend to hoard it when it’s in season. That crumbly topping sounds divine too.

  2. I rarely make crumble topping but I don’t know why. It only makes things better! Yours look really yummy. :)

  3. These look so delicious! Love your blog! And love those cute napkins.

  4. I’ve never made a muffin with a crumble topping! I love rhubarb and I love crumble so will definitely have to try these :-)

  5. Rhubarb is definitely one of my favorite spring/summer fruits (vegetables?) and I look forward to it every year! now I wish I had frozen some last summer so I could make these immediately. that crumb topping is calling my name…

  6. Wow…you always make the best things! I WILL be making these! Rhubarb always reminds me of my grandmother. She used it quite a bit. I like the idea that it’s different from the usual flavors you might see.

  7. These look SO good! I love rhubarb with strawberries.

  8. I’m totally with you on the crumble topping, it just makes everything right :) I can’t wait for rhubarb season, shouldn’t be too much longer here!

  9. For sure! You know me well. :)

  10. Heavenly! I love rhubarb and can’t wait to buy the first stems of the season.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  11. I only discovered rhubarb last year but really loved it in a crumb cake I made. I also love crumbly muffin tops so I’m going to give these a try once it comes back into season. Thanks for sharing!

  12. I have a hard time with rhubarb. I always think if I could sweeten it up a little, I might learn to like it. I absolutely love the crumb topping, though! This looks like a great recipe!

  13. the crumble topping sounds divine. Great looking muffins K!

  14. I’m eagerly awaiting rhubarb to hit the store shelves, and wishing I had some in the freezer, too!!

  15. Love these muffins, look yummy!!!

  16. This looks like it would be a hit with my family for the weekend. So, I will whip it up this weekend for everyone and I’m confident my whole family will be raving about these little gems!

    Thanks for the recipe,

    Grandma Kat
    XOXOXOXOXO

  17. I love muffins with a crumble topping! I’ve never actually cooked with rhubarb before but this sounds like something I would really like :)

  18. I totally agree with you. Crumb toppings are a must. Glazes are a must. Or crumb toppings and glazes in combination could work as well :)

  19. These are in the oven as I type! Hubby will be in heaven trying something new with rhubarb!! Thanks! Still have some left…………will have to look at your other rhubarb recipes – the spread looks interesting!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies Tres Leches Cake Rhubarb Crunch Strawberry Rhubarb Pie with Streusel Topping Peanut Butter and Honey Popcorn Double Fudge Oreo Cookies Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Brownies Rhubarb Muffins with Crumble Topping […]

Leave a Reply

