{Giveaway} Ozeri Pro Digital Kitchen Food Scale

Giveaway Closed

If I could describe my time living in Switzerland in five words I would say: running, hiking, mountains, friends, and chocolate.

I had a blast, and I have many posts from there in my archives (summer months of 2010 and 2011) that I often check back on to reminisce. Even though it was the perfect place to live, be physically active, and eat, it made things a bit difficult when it came to baking. There weren’t your standard measuring cups or spoons and most baking ingredients needed to be weighed out. I knew this before moving there so I made sure to pack my own measuring cups along with my hiking boots and clothes for the year. It was a life saver!

But of course, the Swiss don’t need to bake with measuring spoons. They produce some of the most delectable sweets I have ever tasted and all they need is a weigh scale (for the most part). So, setting aside my measuring spoons I tried baking this way a few times and all of these recipes turned out great! It makes sense really, if you weigh something out then it will be consistent every time. One cup of flour may not be the exact amount as another cup of flour. I highly recommend baking this way, and with that I have something for you.

A digital kitchen scale! This giveaway is provided by slimkicker.com as a way to promote living a healthy lifestyle. Check out their website! They have nutritionists that provide meal plans and advice for you, and they help you stay motivated and excited about your fitness goals.

Not only is this scale great for baking, but it is also great so that you can portion out your snacks. It’s an awesome way to make sure you are staying on track and not eating too many calories.

For the Giveaway:

If you’d like to enter to win the digital kitchen scale just comment below by telling me:

1. Do you use a food scale? What do you usually use it for?

OR

What do you do to stay physically active?

2. For a second entry, Twitter Follow Warm Vanilla Sugar and then tweet the following:

“I entered to win a Free Digital Kitchen Scale in the @katrinadingle @SlimKicker Giveaway http://bit.ly/z29dKC

3. For three extra entries (leave a separate comment for each):

Like Warm Vanilla Sugar on Facebook

Follow SlimKicker on Twitter

Follow Warm Vanilla Sugar on Pinterest

NOTES:
-Contest ends Tuesday, March 19, 2012 and winner will be chosen randomly.
-Open to Continental U.S. Residents only.

Good luck!

Comments

  1. I use a food scale when the recipe uses grams instead of cups.

  2. Carmen Keith says:

    I don’t currently use one but I do bake alot of bread. I would like to use one for weighing flour and getting a more accurate measurement!

  3. I zumba to keep fit and use a food scale when baking. They say a scale is more accurate than measuring cups/spoons.

  4. for me to stay active I go to the gym 3 times a week, I go to yoga 3 times a week and love running once the weather gets warmer :)

  5. I’ve been using a food scale for over a year for strict calorie counting. I weigh everything I eat(even “harmless” stuff like lettuce). Best thing I ever started doing. I also use it when substituting non-wheat flour in recipe, I do it by weight equivalent(doesn’t always work- haha). To stay active I do walking & Leslie Sansone workouts.

  6. I would love a new kitchen scale for my macarons!

  7. I love using the food scale for baking and for portion control. I like to stay fit doing all different kinds of workout DVDs at home ~6 times a week.

  8. amy marantino says:

    i use a scale to weigh coffee grounds

  9. Run – it’s the best bang for your buck, so to speak. Half marathon in a few weeks :)

  10. Great giveaway! I use a food scale primarily for weighing bags of meat and seafood before I freeze them. Thanks for sharing!

  11. I use it the most when dividing different meat to freeze…like breaking down hamburger into 1 or 2 pound sizes. Not pretty or creative just makes it easier when you need a pound of hamburger for a meatloaf recipe!

  12. I use a kitchen scale. I think measuring by weight is the only way to bake!

  13. i do not currently have a food scale to use however do think it would be a wonderful addition to my kitchen. i walk/hike with the dogs to stay healthy.

  14. unfortunately i do not have a facebook nor even know what pininterest is or how to post something so no extra entries there. can i have one because i subscribe by email?

  15. I love Switzerland! I spent a summer there while in art school – perhaps the best summer of my life. So gorgeous. And even though I don’t ever use my kitchen scale, I know that they’re typically more accurate for baking, yes? (And along those lines, you don’t need to enter me in the contest since I already own a scale. :)

  16. I would love to have a food scale to measure ingredients when I bake. I would also use it to portion meat evenly.

  17. I actually use a food scale for weighing packages than for food but it does come in handy when I’m making dinner rolls.

  18. I use the little munchkin kitchen scale I’ve had for years to measure just about everything. I really like being able to use it for baking recipes that need to be really precise the most. :)

  19. I don’t have a food scale yet but I’d love to have one! To stay physically active, I run on the treadmill.

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  20. following + tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/jfong1130/status/179814218722328577

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  21. I like Warm Vanilla Sugar on facebook!

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  22. following slimkicker on twitter @jfong1130

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  23. following Warm Vanilla Sugar on Pinterest!

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  24. I use a kitchen scale regularly, but just gave mine to my son, so this is theperfect opportunity to get a replacement.

  25. I do use a scale! I use a lot of Aussie cookbooks and most of their recipes are measured in Grams too…mine’s broken and not digital so I think my baking has been a bit off recently!

  26. I use a basic food scale for measuring baking ingredients, usually chopped chocolate. My husband and I just started healthy weekly meal planning. This scale would be great to measure out portions! Thanks

  27. I use my rickety, non-digital kitchen scale whenever a recipe calls for ounces and there is reason to be so exact, and for chopped chopped chocolate. This is my first time to your blog…. love it!

  28. I don’t use a kitchen scale because I don’t have one! But I do have a list of recipes with weight measurements that I’m itching to try–mostly baked goods.

    And to stay active–we don’t have a car and walk or bike around everywhere instead. :)

  29. I run to stay physically active :) What a beautiful scale, I would love to win it! Thanks :)
    Kristi @ My San Francisco Kitchen ~ info@mysanfranciscokitchen.com

  30. I use one, often to portion out amounts for dishes I’m making.

    Staying active – running, lifting, walking instead of driving (all much easier in San Diego)

  31. and liked on facebook :D

  32. Ok, how gorgeous is that photo!!! I visited Geneva briefly during a high school trip to France, I would LOVE to go back!!

    I try to stay physically active daily…lots of walking, running, and swimming when I can. I keep hearing how much better baking by measuring is, I’m intrigued :)

  33. I don’t have a kitchen scale, but I’d love one! To stay active, I kind of wander about the lobby and pretend the chairs in the waiting area need to be rearranged. Receptionists are pretty limited, activity-wise, but there’s only so long that I can sit behind that desk. When the weather’s nice, I’ll make bossman give me a break and walk the parking lot of the empty buiding next door.

  34. I had the recent task of making recipes from the UK/Ireland and realized the importance of having a good kitchen scale! I could definitely use one as conversions are not my strong point.

  35. I follow you on Twitter.

  36. I like you on FB.

  37. I follow you on Pinterest as well!

  38. I’ve never used a food scale! I have more measuring cups than I can count, but would love to give this way of measuring a try :) To stay active I give in to the puppy dog eyes at the side of my bed in the morning and wake up early to take our dog for his first walk in the morning, and second after work. Spoiling him works in my favor here!

  39. I ride my bike to stay active! (And I don’t have a food scale, but would love one to make better bread and pizza dough!)

  40. I liked Warm Vanilla Sugar on Facebook!

  41. Followed slimkicker in twitter, @mrobertson13

  42. Following Warm Vanilla Sugar on pinterest!

  43. Followed Warm Vanilla Sugar on twitter and tweeted! @Mrobertson13

  44. I use my food scale every time I bake! I know some people think this is fussier but I actually think it’s a lot less messy than leveling flour is!

  45. Susan Johnson says:

    I walk my dog every day.

  46. I don’t have a scale but would absolutely love for all the baking I do (as a college student, can’t afford one quite yet, but here’s my opportunity! :)) To stay fit, I run, bike, use an elliptical, and lift five times a week–exercise is so important to me!

  47. Also, I like you on Facebook :)

  48. I love using a scale for cooking. My son who is away at college would love one.

  49. I am definitely not a runner! I prefer walking. I also enjoy yoga and zumba. Thanks for the giveaway!

Trackbacks

  1. […] don’t forget to enter my Giveaway! Winners for the kitchen scale will be picked next Tuesday, March 19th and announced Wednesday. […]

Leave a Reply

