Parmesan Spinach in Puff Pastry

Dear 12 year old me,

One day you will grow to like spinach. I’m serious. So much in fact that you will spend hours on end scrolling through your Google reader (don’t worry about what that is hunny) to find fun ways to use it. Who knew steamed spinach wasn’t the only way to eat this wonderful vegetable. Trust me. You’ll love it.

Also,
Stop wearing overalls, pay attention in French class and know that you will still be listening to the Spice Girls at 25….a concert may be in your near future.

Uhh….anyway, 13 year old me would like this puff pastry, I like this puff pastry, and you will like it too! Who doesn’t like cheesy goodness in a buttery crust? Like, come on!

To begin, place the pine nuts in a dry sauté pan over low heat for 5 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. Heat the butter in a sauté pan over medium-low heat. Add the onion, and cook for about 5 minutes (until tender). Add the garlic, and cook for 1 more minute.

In the meantime, squeeze the water out of the spinach, and place it into a large bowl. Add the scallions, Gruyere, Parmesan, eggs, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Add the pine nuts. Add the onion mixture. Mix well. Set aside.

Unfold one sheet of puff pastry. Cut the pastry in half.

Place one half of pastry on your lined baking sheet.

Spread the spinach mixture in the middle of the pastry, leaving a 1-inch border. Brush the border with the egg wash.

Lightly flour your counter or a board, and roll out the second piece of puff pastry until it’s an inch larger in each direction.

Place the second sheet of pastry over the spinach, and seal the edges, crimping them with a fork.

Brush the top only with egg wash. (Don’t let it drip down the sides, or the pastry won’t rise.) Make three slits in the pastry, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, until the pastry is lightly browned.

Transfer to a cutting board, and serve hot.

Spinach in Puff Pastry
Recipe lightly adapted from Ezra Pound Cake
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1/8 cup pine nuts
2 tbsp (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup onions, chopped (1 onion)
2 cloves chopped garlic
1 (10-ounce) box frozen chopped spinach, defrosted
1 chopped scallion, white and green parts
1/2 cup gruyere cheese, grated
1/2 cup fresh parmesan cheese, grated
2 large eggs
1/2 tbsp dry plain bread crumbs
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 sheet (1/2 box) frozen puff pastry, defrosted
Egg wash: 1 large egg beaten with 1 tbsp of water

Directions:
Place the pine nuts in a dry sauté pan over low heat for 5 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Heat the butter in a sauté pan over medium-low heat. Add the onion, and cook for about 5 minutes (until tender).

Add the garlic, and cook for 1 more minute.

In the meantime, squeeze the water out of the spinach, and place it into a large bowl. Add the scallions, Gruyere, Parmesan, eggs, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Add the pine nuts. Add the onion mixture. Mix well. Set aside.

Unfold one sheet of puff pastry. Cut the pastry in half and place one half on your lined baking sheet.

Spread the spinach mixture in the middle of the pastry, leaving a 1-inch border.

Brush the border with the egg wash.

Lightly flour your counter or a board, and roll out the second piece of puff pastry until it’s an inch larger in each direction.

Place the second sheet of pastry over the spinach, and seal the edges, crimping them with a fork.

Brush the top only with egg wash. (Don’t let it drip down the sides, or the pastry won’t rise.)

Make three slits in the pastry, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, until the pastry is lightly browned.

Transfer to a cutting board, and serve hot. (Slice with a long serrated knife, if possible.)

Note: This can be assembled and refrigerated a day in advance and baked before serving.

Comments

  1. Funny post and a delicious idea for spinach you have here! I think the same thing whenever I eat spinach, too – When I was a kid, it seemed like the worst thing in the world! Now I eat a spinach salad multiple times a week, hah. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Spinach is definitely one of those things that I never ever thought that I would actually want to eat and now I love it! This is a great way to use it too.

  3. What a great way to showcase one of my favorite veggie’s. It’s almost time to plant it here so I’ll bookmark this for harvest!

  4. I really love spinach now, funny as a few years ago I hated the stuff! Now I like it in pasta, salads, creamed and in pies and tarts!

  5. Mm this sounds so good – its kind of like a more (fibery?) pesto! ^^ This is a really funny post – I love your blog so much!

  6. Spinach and cheese are always a winning combination. Your pastry looks delicious!

  7. The Teenage Taste says:

    I feel like I am the only person who absolutely LOVED spinach as a kid. Yes, I know, I’m weird. ;-)
    Anyways, this puff pastry looks delicious and seems really easy to make. Thanks for posting!

  8. Looks so good!

  9. I loved your letter to your 12-year old self. Oh, if only we had more wisdom back then. This recipe is exactly why I love the ease of puff pastry. I’d love to whip this up for my family any weeknight!

  10. I actually crave spinach now (in my old 25-year-old age :P), an eventuality my 13-year-old self would never have believed could happen. And I will definitely be craving this puff pastry deliciousness!

  11. It looks very much like our Greek spanakopita! I love spinach in every form, shape and way of cooking! This one looks amazing. Spinach contains so many vitamins and iron. This is a very beautiful blog with lovely recipes!

  12. Haha! I still can’t believe I grew up to like spinach either!!!! Love recipes that can be made ahead!

  13. Holy cow, I love spinach. It’s WAY better than lettuce for a salad. It’s great cooked or raw, you just can’t go wrong! This recipe looks delicious, what a wonderful snack or side!

  14. My goodness, this sounds sooo wonderful!

  15. This looks amazing, and I happen to have an extra package of puff pastry to use up! Look forward to trying it!

  16. Ooooh, if only we could go back in time, right? :) This looks delicious – I am a spinach lover!

  17. Yum. That filling sounds scrumptious! I love dishes like this.

  18. Mmm, looks delicious! I’m not a huge fan of spinach, but I’d totally devour this!

  19. I recently fell in love with spinach. I hated it growing up, mainly because my mom would make these disgusting spinach apple juices and I would dump it down the drain when she wasn’t looking. I was kind of a rebel. Anyway, I think these drinks scarred me from ever eating spinach again. But my adult palette now welcomes spinach with open arms and I cannot wait to make this. I love using puff pastry too, so I’m sure I’ll love this.

  20. I wish I could write that note to myself at 12 too. :) And I’d add in broccoli and avocados. Things I should have tried and missed out on for years!

    This looks fantastic. My husband would love this. Bookmarking it for later. :)

  21. Wow, does this look good! I’m with you, there are so many great ways to enjoy spinach, this is definitely one of them. I could eat this every day :)

Leave a Reply

