Nanaimo Bars

Christmas is this weekend! Whoa.

Have I told you that I work in a shopping mall? Well, I do. While I’m going to school I work in a bookstore so that I can pay for college, but it’s more than that. I really like the people I work with, I like talking to customers about books AND I get a mad discount. So things are usually good.

As you know it is currently the holiday season, so this is the time of year where going to work is not so fun. Customers can be angry, rude, and plain and simply crazy! If we don’t have a book they are looking for many of them freak out. Here is some stuff I hear on a daily basis:

Customer: “Five cents for a bag? I donate to enough charities and don’t need to donate to yours”.
My thoughts: I don’t care.

Customer: “Why the hell are you selling books at the Canadian price when the American dollar is at par”?
My thoughts: I don’t make the prices, the publishers do.

Customer: “I’m looking for a book. It’s blue”.
My thoughts: ?

Customer: “I ordered that book a week ago and now it won’t make it for Christmas? I need it NOW”.
My thoughts: Stop last minute shopping.

There are nice customers too. There always are, and of course they usually out number the crazy ones. But it’s the crazy ones that I remember because they’re so ridiculous! People just need to relax. Sit down, have a coffee, and breathe. When I’m stressed I like to run. And when I’m not running I like to bake. It’s a vicious cycle.

I love these nanaimo bars. I was never really into the whole nanaimo thing until I went to my boyfriend’s Grandma’s house back in October and she served these. I fell in love and added them to my Christmas baking list as soon as I got home. The center is more of a buttercream, but still has that custard texture. The crust is buttery and soft and will blow your mind! I hope you enjoy these. I did. My thighs not so much.

Let’s start with the crust. Melt together the butter, brown sugar, and cocoa. I did mine in a pot, but a microwave or a double broiler would be great too!

Beat the egg, and quickly whisk it into the hot chocolate mixture. You need to add the egg slowly and keep the whisk moving, otherwise you will have scrambled eggs! Mix in the graham crackers, coconut, and walnuts.

Press the crust into an 8×8 pan that has been lined with parchment. Put the crust into the fridge to chill for a half hour. I hate waiting.

Cream together the powdered sugar, butter, and custard powder. Add the cream slowly, and beat until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Spread the cream layer evenly over the crust. Back in the fridge for another half hour or so.

Melt together the butter and chocolate (either a double boiler or microwave) and pour over the chilled cream layer. Put the pan back in the fridge for it to set up.

Cut into small squares (since they are really rich) and keep in the fridge until ready to serve. Enjoy!

Namaimo Bars
Makes enough for an 8×8-inch pan
Recipe adapted from Baked Bree

Ingredients
Crust:
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 Tablespoons cocoa
1 egg
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1 cup coconut
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Middle Layer:
2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup room temperature butter
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 Tablespoons custard powder

Chocolate layer:
3 ounces (1/3 cup) chocolate chips
1/4 cup (1 stick) butter

Instructions
Crust:
Start with the crust. Melt together the butter, brown sugar, and cocoa. I did mine in a pot, but a microwave or a double broiler would be great too!

Beat the egg, and quickly whisk it into the hot chocolate mixture. You need to add the egg slowly and keep the whisk moving, otherwise you will have scrambled eggs!

Mix in the graham crackers, coconut, and walnuts. Press the crust into an 8×8 pan that has been lined with parchment. Put the crust into the fridge to chill for a half hour.

Buttercream Layer:
Cream together the powdered sugar, butter, and custard powder. Add the cream slowly, and beat until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

Spread the cream layer evenly over the crust. Back in the fridge for another half hour or so.

Chocolate Topping:
Melt together the butter and chocolate (either a double boiler or microwave) and pour over the chilled cream layer. Put the pan back in the fridge for it to set up.

Cut into small squares (since they are really rich) and keep in the fridge until ready to serve.

Comments

  1. Wow. I’ve never heard of nanaimo bars. They look absolutely amazing though!

  2. I’m going to make this.Your step wise pictures is really useful.Thanks.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  3. Oh my….I’m going to get so fat if I stick around this blog for long – stop putting ideas into my head about baking sweet things!

  4. Ive never made Nanaimo bars but every now and then Ill see these delish looking gems pop up on blogs…and it makes me wanna get busy in the kitchen.

    Yours are gorg!

  5. People are definitely crazier around the holidays; I’m sorry you have to deal with that! These bars look lovely though and definitely a nice stress-reliever. :-) Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!

  6. Not good for my “sweet tooth” cravings that I am trying to squash today!

  7. These look sooo good, definitely making me want some!

  8. These look wonderful I love the combination of graham cracker and walnuts. And bars are such a great dessert/treat because you can just take a nibble or create bite-sizes, but also grab a big hunk! :)

  9. I came to your blog after seeing your comment on the bog “Baked Bree,” and thought for SURE I saw this recipe there a few weeks ago… sure enough, I saw your credit to her blog!

    Your bars look great! I love the Baked Bree blog, it was my inspiration to begin my food blog, TheYummyBits.com.

  10. I can’t believe I’ve never made these. They look delicious! I saw someone do them in Christmas colors once!

  11. I’ve always heard of these but never seen or tried them. Looks fantastic!

  12. These look so good and your pictures are beautiful! My family traditionally sticks to baking cookies around Christmas-time, I’d love to try these those! A little change is always nice!

  13. I make these same bars but add creme de menthe and green food color to the middle…. yum

  14. Wow – these are a new one for me and they look very delicious!

  15. Goodness gracious, they look amazing! Thanks for sharing and happy holidays!

  16. What is custard powder and where can it be purchased?

  17. You have got to love people!! :) I can only imagine how crazy retail is before the holidays. (and on a side note – working at a bookstore would be SO dangerous for me!!) I’ve always wanted to make namaimo bars, but haven’t yet. I need to change that asap.

  18. “I’m looking for a book. It’s blue.” That line made me laugh out loud. I don’t even like being around other customers this time of year, let alone dealing with them! Poor you.

  19. I, like you, initially did not like nanaimo bars – too sweet, also I’m not big on chocolate. Then I had someone’s homemade nanaimo bars and it all changed. I’m totally on the nanaimo bar train now! Thanks for your recipe. Looks great!

  20. I loved this post! People do get really crazy sometimes…
    Nanaimo bars, I need to give these a try. They look so delicious!

  21. these look freaking amazing! who wouldn’t want frosting inside of chocolate? amazing.

  22. Lord have mercy, this looks good. I really can’t wait to try this. I will have to wait another couple of weeks, though as I’m trying to work off 5 holiday pounds. *pout* But it is getting printed out and stuck in my *to bake immediately* stack.

    BTW, I don’t have much sympathy for you. “If I’m stressed I want to run, if I’m not running, I’m baking”
    That’s like perfect. You can bake because you run! I’m jealous and wish that I enjoyed running. I totally don’t. At all….
    I exercise just enough to eat the things I love.

  23. these look GOOD! I’ve never tasted nanaimo bars before. but something tells me i would L-O-V-E them. You make the whole process and recipe look easy!

  24. oh and i’m COMPLETELY the same: “When I’m stressed I like to run. And when I’m not running I like to bake. It’s a vicious cycle.” I love running so much… all my baking cancels it out :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Pecan Pie Bars Nanaimo Bars Shortbread by The Cookbook Chronicles Baklava by How Sweet It Is Toffee Squares by The Pioneer […]

Leave a Reply

