Butterscotch Apple Blondies

It snowed for the first time this season yesterday. It wasn’t too bad. Instead of crumpling my face into Mr. Wrinkles and complaining, I decided to bundle up and enjoy the beauty of the winter wonderland around me.

And it WAS beautiful. It wasn’t too cold and the snow was perfect for packing and making a snowman – although I didn’t get to. Biting my mittens off made me want to go skiing so. freaking. bad.

With the colder season I’ve been baking a lot with apples. After the fall harvest my boyfriend and I were left with over 50 apples to bake and cook with. FIFTY! Luckily, I was in the mood to try new things and ended up coming up with a variety of recipes ranging from apple butter to cookies to these blondies. I brought these blondies into school and they were devoured in a matter of minutes. I hope you enjoy them!

To begin, preheat oven to 350° and spray a 9×13 baking pan lightly with cooking or baking spray. Then, cream butter and brown sugar in mixer until smooth.

Add eggs and vanilla and beat on medium until combined.

On low, add flour, baking powder, and salt. Mixing until just combined.

Stir in the chopped apples and butterscotch chips until evenly distributed.

Spread in prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes until the center is set.

Let cool completely before slicing or frosting.

It’s hard, I know…

Now, onto the buttery crazy-delicious icing. Melt butter in a medium saucepan.

Add brown sugar and milk and bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Let cool for 5 minutes.

Stir in powdered sugar with a whisk.

Let cool until it thickens enough to spread.

Stir before spreading on top of blondies and then pour that deliciousness on top.

Let frosting set for 30 minutes and then cut into bars.

Dig in! Awww, yeah.

Butterscotch Apple Blondies
Adapted from Cookies and Cups

Blondies
Ingredients:
2/3 cup room temperature butter
2 cups packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups All-Purpose Flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup peeled, chopped tart apple (about 1 large)
1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350° and spray a 9×13 baking pan lightly with cooking or baking spray.

Cream butter and brown sugar in mixer until smooth.

Add eggs and vanilla and beat on medium until combined.

On low, add flour, baking powder, and salt. Mixing until just combined.

Stir in the chopped apples and butterscotch chips until evenly distributed.

Spread in prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes until the center is set.

Let cool completely before slicing or frosting.

Brown Sugar Frosting
Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup milk
2 cups powdered sugar

Instructions:
Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add brown sugar and milk and bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Let cool for 5 minutes.

Stir in powdered sugar with a whisk.

Let cool until it thickens enough to spread.

Stir before spreading on top of blondies.

Let frosting set for 30 minutes and then cut into bars.

Comments

  1. I can smell the apple and butterscotch aready. Muuuuuuuum. A big square and a dollop of ice cream would make one think they were in heaven

  2. Oh boy, I could go for one of those blondies right now! That frosting looks amazing.

  3. Exucse me? Butterscotch apple blondies? I will take the whole tray, please! ;)

  4. These sound phenomenal!! I just so happen to have some apples leftover from a trip to the orchard earlier this fall too :)

  5. oh yum, I want to eat this right now!

  6. What a gorgeous and soul-satisfying fall treat! Love it and happy belated Thanksgiving!

  7. Oh wow, those look amazing. I love butterscotch. And the frosting! I wish I would have read this yesterday before I made frosting for my pumpkin cake.

  8. Yum, I love butterscotch chips. And apples in baked goods are so perfect. Nice job on these !

  9. Mmmm, sounds delicious!

  10. These sound like the perfect snow day snack! Yum!

  11. These sound like a delicious treat. I love the brown sugar frosting!

  12. Apples are definitely my favorite fruit to cook with. Just mastering the apple pie, now glad to see something totally new (for me, anyway). It always feels like whatever dessert I make with apples is just slightly more healthy (“at least I have some apples in there”). LOL…

    Delicious-looking recipe, will put a shortcut on my laptop for this. Glad you didn’t put a calorie count on this ;)

    Erika

    Cuisinart 12 cup food processor

  13. I love the butterscotch topping! Brown sugar just makes me giddy for some reason… and I love baking with apples

  14. These look great, I am going to give them a try in the New Year. I love Blondies and that frosting looks amazing. Thanks!

  15. Just made these and they smell delicious! Can’t wait for them to cool. Not sure if I will frost them or not… they seem pretty amazing already!

  16. My review: I appreciate the ‘how-to’ pictures and directions, followed by the listed directions. Very organized and easy to follow. I had been looking for a dessert to bring to two Thanksgiving dinners, and wanted something festive yet easy to make, and that would travel well. Furthermore, I happened to have butterscotch chips and apples available, and researched what I could make with what I had. This recipe fit the bill, and I went ahead and made it according to direction, no changes, twice (I did not double). It turned out exactly like it does in the pictures. I imagine it turned out exactly like it is supposed to. Thank you for a well written recipe. Kudos!
    .
    Now, looking at the ingredients, I thought it might be much too sweet, and (according to my taste and the variety of company that tried it) it is, despite how much I really love my sweet foods (especially frosting!). Blonde Brownies are traditionally sweet without frosting, so the over sweetness comes from the addition of frosting, this one with its three cups of sugar, along with the sweetness of the batter. The frosting has a nice taste, and compliments the tart apple chunks, and butterscotch chips well. The volume of frosting for the 9X13 pan was significant, so perhaps less frosting applied would create a better sweet balance, or as another writer considered, no frosting at all. I think it should have some frosting- so go with a thin layer or a pretty drizzle. The batter baked more cake-like than blondie, but the variance might come from my oven, I don’t know. Anyway, it was very good, pleasantly moist, and has an excellent “mouth feel”- it was hard for me to stop eating it, especially after I scraped off a portion of the frosting. Actually, as I write this, I am working on the pan of leftovers that the host sent me home with. Sealed appropriately, the freshness quality will last for a few days.

    In summation, I would make this again, but with less frosting. As foods are often enhanced by a beverage, I posit that this dessert goes well with a bold coffee, or stout. where the sweetness would be tempered by the bitter.

Leave a Reply

