Baked Chickpea Garlic Rice Pilaf

For the past week I’ve been having trouble knowing what to do with myself. Towards the end of October a pain developed in my left hip and it ended up being bad enough that I decided to take this week off from running in hopes it would get better. I thought is was an overuse injury – I’ve had this before in my foot, but it’s been a week today and I can still feel the pain anytime I have to run for the bus, or when I have to do things like “skaters” in my workout routine. I can still do strength workouts, yoga, and pretty much anything that’s not cardio….but none of it’s running. And running is a major thing in my life that makes me happy.

I’ve been running since high school, but I started running regularly when I was 19 and have pretty much been hitting the pavement 5-6 days a week since. It clears my mind, it hipes up my endorphins, it makes me feel strong. For those of you who do run, you know what I mean, but for those who don’t, trust me, it’s addicting. Not being able to do this simple 40 – 120 minute thing every day has really thrown me off. I feel lost. Yoga helps a bit. Long walks help a bit. But I still feel…weird.

I wish I could say something uplifting now. Tell you how I’ve gotten over it or tell you that I’m feeling better because of this awesome rice dish. But I think I just need time. Or advice. And I need to write these thoughts down because this is pretty much all I think about right now! I chose to share this particular rice dish because it is a favorite thing of mine. Like running, or chocolate chip cookies, or Nanny’s house. It’s something I’ve been making for a long time. It’s garlic-y, warm, and has a perfect blend of flavours that cook right into the rice. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

In a saucepan or skillet, melt the butter over medium-high heat.

Add the garlic and let cook for about 1 minute.

Add rice to the pan and cook until both are golden brown, about 3-4 minutes.

Stir in 1 cup of the chicken broth or veggie stock, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.

Pour the mixture into the casserole dish, cover, and bake for 25 minutes.

Stir in the remaining 1½ cups chicken broth and bake, covered, for another 45 minutes.

About 15 minutes before it is finished baking, stir in a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Eat up!

Baked Chickpea Garlic Rice Pilaf
Makes 3 main dish meals and 5 side dish meals
Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:
2 tbsp. butter
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 cup long-grain white rice
2½ cups chicken broth (or veggie broth), divided
1 cup canned chickpeas, drained
½ tsp. salt
pepper to taste
Squeeze of lemon juice

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375° F. Have ready a covered casserole dish.

In a saucepan or skillet, melt the butter over medium-high heat.

Add the garlic and rice to the pan and cook until both are golden brown, about 3-4 minutes.

Stir in 1 cup of the chicken/veggie broth, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.

Pour the mixture into the casserole dish, cover, and bake for 25 minutes.

Stir in the remaining 1½ cups chicken/veggie broth and bake, covered, for another 45 minutes.

About 15 minutes before it is finished baking, stir in a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Note: This recipe can be doubled without increasing the baking time. I double this recipe almost every time I make it and it turns out just as yummy!

Comments

  1. It breaks my heart to hear you are still hurting . From what I’ve heard ,running is addicting so you must be missing it soooo much.Glad you can still exercise with yoga and walking. Walking can always be done with a friend who is unable to run so you are helping them out and yourself. Look after yourself as I know you always do and keep on making and sharing those wonderful recipes with all of us. Nan

  2. While this looks comforting, I can totally relate to your frustrations. I have a tendonitis in my hip that has flared up occasionally since high school. It’s painful and frustrating not to run…but in the past I’ve found if I did, I’d favor the knee on my other side and end up making things worse. Have you looked into the pain at all? Doctors thought for a while I had a stress fracture before diagnosing tendonitis. Might be worth an x-ray?

  3. Wow, I totally get you. I’ve had an on-going “knee thing” since early summer! I tried to take care of it myself, just by research on-line etc. It never did go away, so I recently saw my doctor about it. They didn’t see anything wrong in the xray, so the next step is an MRI – which I am going to do beacause I know that there is something going on there, and it’s not just your normal aches and pains that go along with exercise ang getting older! I told my doctor that I – in a way – already feel so much better just because we are finally doing something to get to the bottom of it. I understand what you mean about being addicted to running and everything that goes along with it. Good luck and feel better!!

    This rice looks delicious. I’m going to make it soon. I’ve made things before that you’ve posted, so I already know I’ll love it!

  4. Yummy! I am so trying this with olive oil.

Leave a Reply

