Spicy Guacamole

Yesterday was weird. I woke up at 6 am (same as everyday), read my morning blogs, got ready, and head out the door at 7:20 to catch my bus. It was rainy so when I came back inside to grab my umbrella I realized that it was still dark outside. Weird. Usually it’s light. *WHAM* It hit me. I’m not supposed to catch the bus until 8:20. My class starts at 9. Fail.

These things happen. Call them brain farts or whatever you will, but boy, do they make me feel silly! I just giggled, and decided to practice guitar to pass the time. I think I need to sleep more. This recipe is good for sleepy people, non-sleepy people and zombies (I’m on a Walking Dead kick). It’s easy and super tasty. My favorite guacamole recipe that I’ve tasted thus far. Feeling too tired to bake a 7-layer cake? Me too. Here’s a guac recipe for ya.

To begin, half and pit your avocados.

Toss scooped avocados with lime juice.

Mash the avocados using a fork or potato masher.

Add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash.

Chop a jalapeno.

Chop your onion.

Chop your tomatoes.

And fold onion, jalapeno, tomatoes, cilantro (optional), and garlic. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour to get the flavours mixing together.

Serve with tortilla chips, pitas, or veggies. Eat! See? Easy.

Spicy Guacamole
Recipe adapted from My Baking Addiction
Yield | 6 servings

Ingredients:
3 ripe avocados, halved, seeded and scooped
2 limes, juiced
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
1/2 cup diced red onion (about 1 small onion)
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced (leave some seeds in if you want to crank up the heat)
2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (optional)

Directions:
In a large bowl, toss the scooped avocados with the lime juice. Mash the avocados using a fork or potato masher. Add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash. Fold in the onion, jalapeno, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

Notes
-If you don’t like your guacamole spicy, simply omit the jalapeno and cut back on the cayenne.

Comments

  1. Haha, I hate it when that happens. Glad you had time to make and share your guac, though! It’s making me hungry!!

  2. Love guacamole! Good anytime of the day! At least you got some fun stuff in before class :)

  3. I ADORE guacamole. Like literally want to marry it!
    This looks like a great recipe!

  4. I love quacamole. I’ve never made it myself before, though. Think I’ll make this one! Thanks!

  5. I love guacamole! thanks for the recipe! yum!

    Amanda
    softandstiffpeaks.blogspot.com

  6. Haha, I do things like that all the time. Your guacamole looks great, perfect for game day today :)

  7. My mama is super guacamole obsessed and this looks sooo good. She would absolutely love this because she loves spicy! I can’t wait to try this out. :) Thanks for the great recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. […] on to guacamole. Tied with hummus, it’s my favorite summer dip. I have a favorite recipe for guacamole that I made a while ago, but since it’s summer I added some fresh roasted corn to the mix […]

Leave a Reply

