Blueberry-Lime Muffins

I have a problem with muffins. They always look so tasty in coffee shops. They have big, sugary, tops and are all perfectly matched and the same size. I want to try each kind all at once, compare them, bath in a bucket of batter…man, they look inviting. Sooooo their lure makes me cave inevitably. I buy a muffin and am then disappointed. There is rarely any taste! Seriously, what it up with this?! Same goes for packaged grocery store muffins. They look so yummy, but then are usually bland and boring.

Luckily, there are tons of other bloggers out there who love muffins too! I have about 50 muffin recipes bookmarked and wanted to try this one since I had some fresh blueberries on hand. Also this muffin recipe combines blueberries and limes. Yes. Please.

I know you want these too. So, in a small bowl, combine sugar and lime zest. Mix with clean fingertips until sugar is moistened and fragrant. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, stir together flours, salt and baking soda. Set aside.

In large bowl, beat eggs and sugar until thoroughly incorporated. Continue beating while slowly pouring in the oil. Add in vanilla.

Stir half of the dry ingredients into egg mixture.

Add half the yogurt.

Add the rest of the flour and yogurt and mix together.

Gently fold in blueberries.

Scoop batter into muffin pan and top with a sprinkling of coarse sugar.

Bake in preheated oven for 20-22 minutes.

Blueberry-Lime Muffins
Recipe adapted from My Baking Addiction
Yield | 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
zest of two limes
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup plain greek yogurt or sour cream (I used greek yogurt)
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I used fresh ones)
coarse sugar, optional

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray or line with paper muffin liners.
2. In a small bowl, combine sugar and lime zest. Mix with clean fingertips until sugar is moistened and fragrant. Set aside.
3. In a medium bowl, stir together flours, salt and baking soda. Set aside.
4. In large bowl, beat eggs and sugar until thoroughly incorporated. Continue beating while slowly pouring in the oil. Add in vanilla.
5. Stir dry ingredients into egg mixture alternately with yogurt. Gently fold in blueberries. Scoop batter into muffin pan and if desired, top with a sprinkling of coarse sugar.
6. Bake in preheated oven for 20-22 minutes.

Comments

  1. I am a serious muffin addict. These look amazing!!

  2. These are mouthwatering!! I love how domed they are, with blueberries oozing out! And I just love muffins…. :)

  3. I agree; nothing compares to homemade muffins. These sound lovely!

  4. What a yummy combination — love blueberry and citrus but never thought to try lime before!

  5. Those look amazing!! I’ve never tried berries and lime, this might be tomorrow’s breakfast. If I can break that rice pudding addiction.

  6. These look fantastic! I hope you were happy with them. Did they have the flavor you were looking for? You’ve just inspired me to make some as well since I have numerous containers of berries on hand. A great way to use them before I need to toss them.

    These sound yummy. I hope they were!

  7. Blueberry and lime is such a good combination! I’ll have to bookmark these for next summer as sadly I haven’t been able to find good looking berries around here in weeks.

  8. I was going to make a similar recipe, but with blackberries! You beat me to the punch, missy!

  9. I have had blueberry lemon muffins but not blueberry lime….love the idea & must try!

  10. I hear you on the bland and boring muffins…I feel the same way. But these look delicious!

  11. I love the combination of blueberry and lime that you used in these muffins, Katrina! I would have never thought to pair the two. They look so moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Just gorgeous! I am a muffin addict, for sure, and these look devine. By the way, sent a blog award your way today. Happy Friday!

  13. I’ve had blueberry and lemon muffins before, but not lime! I love this idea! Looks delish :)

  14. Your muffins look great. And I totally agree with you, often the muffins looks nice, but the taste is not so extraordinary. I recently posted about this on my blog, too (http://lemontarteinparis.blogspot.com, if you want to have a look). Glad to see there are other people around searching for the real taste of muffins.

  15. Blueberries, lime sugar and sour cream sound like a great flavor combination. You have some really interesting flavor combos in the recipes on your blog-definitely right up my alley!

  16. A few hours ago I was thinking about how amazing fall baking is and that Christmas baking is almost as fun, but summer? That’s just “boring.” Now I’m craving these blueberry lime muffins. Summer baking isn’t as boring as I was thinking. :)

  17. I definitely will. :) And add more lime flavor so it won’t have that yucky whole grain taste. I just have to find some limes! They’re weirdly a little difficult to find here. I’ll let you know how they go!

Leave a Reply

