Classic Rice Pudding

I’m a town-y. I grew up in this cute little town in Ontario, Canada, where my soccer team played right along the river, weekends were spent on the beach, and we would go for rollerblades or bike rides in the evening. Being a teenager was easy, fun, and I hardly had any real worries besides thinking my mother was going to ruin my life…but what teenage girl doesn’t think that?! I genuinely thought that my friends and I would just be able to drink Coca-cola and be happy in this little place forever. Parent free!

Of course I grew up. University came, and I was exposed to the big city. The big, complicated city. I now had bills and boys to deal with and things were annoyingly different. I now missed my family, the same family who I thought was so obnoxious earlier! I missed simple.

This is how I think of this rice pudding. It’s like home. Plain, pretty, and simple. It makes me happy, and is not too complicated to on the palate or to make! Let’s get cookin’ shall we? In a heavy 4-quart pot, combine the milk and cream.

Bring the mixture just to a boil over medium-high heat (small bubbles will appear around the edge of the pan), stirring frequently.

Stir the rice, sugar, raisins, and butter together.

Add to cream mixture. Bring the mixture to a boil again, then reduce the heat. Cover and simmer, stirring frequently, until the rice is tender, about 1 hour.

Beat the eggs in a bowl until light. Add cinnamon.

Temper the eggs by combining 1/4 cup of the cooked rice mixture with the eggs, stirring quickly.

Add the egg-rice mixture back into the pot and incorporate with the rest of the rice. Stir constantly over low heat until the pudding thickens, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat.

Serve nice and hot right out of the pot, or keep covered and cool before serving. Spoon the pudding into dessert dishes and sprinkle with additional cinnamon.

The pudding will keep in an airtight container in the refrigerator for 3 days. I prefer it cold :)

Classic Rice Pudding
Recipe slightly adapted from Daydreamer Desserts
Serves: 12-14

Ingredients:
7 cups whole milk
2 cup heavy cream or soy cream (I used this)
1 1/3 cups long grain rice
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup unsalted butter
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, for garnish

Directions:
In a heavy 4-quart pot, combine the milk and heavy cream. Bring the mixture just to a boil over medium-high heat (small bubbles will appear around the edge of the pan), stirring frequently.

Stir in the rice, sugar, raisins, and butter. Bring the mixture to a boil again, then reduce the heat. Cover and simmer, stirring frequently, until the rice is tender, about 1 hour. Beat the eggs in a bowl until light.

Temper the eggs by combining 1/4 cup of the cooked rice mixture with the eggs, stirring quickly. Add the egg-rice mixture back into the pot and incorporate with the rest of the rice. Stir constantly over low heat until the pudding thickens, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat.

Serve nice and hot right out of the pot, or keep covered and cool before serving. I personally like it cold!

Spoon the pudding into dessert dishes and sprinkle with cinnamon.

The pudding will keep in an airtight container in the refrigerator for 3 days.

Comments

  1. I love rice pudding . Should try it again. Your introductions to each recipe you share is always so inviting.

  2. This does sound simple, and delicious! Those recipes are the best, in my opinion!

  3. I miss the simple days, too… My husband loves rice pudding, and I know he’d love this recipe!!

  4. I can’t wait until the weather gets a little cooler for this! YUM. I love rice pudding.

  5. that is one of my all time favorite dessert!!!

  6. this looks so good

    I love rice pudding! I have a recipe using coconut milk and brown rice on my site.

    yours looks lovely!!

  7. Wow, this sounds so delicious and just perfect for the upcoming cooler months! Beautiful dish :)

  8. The Teenage Taste says:

    Rice pudding has been on my mind a lot lately. Ever since I bought a tub on sale at my grocery store a few weeks ago I’ve been meaning to make it myself. This looks delicious! I’ll definitely bookmark the recipe! :-)

  9. I have to say the minute I saw this I started salivating. It looks incredibly delicious! I’ll definitely have to try this. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  10. You are a girl after my own heart! Rice Pudding is one of my favorite desserts ever. And while I have had it many ways, the classic way is still the best. :-D

  11. Oh, rice pudding…I love it. This looks lovely.

  12. This looks just about perfect. Delicious!

  13. thank you for posting this recipe!

  14. Ahhh..one of my all time favorite comfort foods!

  15. I LOVE rice pudding! And I’m glad to see by the responses here, many people do. I never make it anymore because my husband won’t eat it…but after seeing your yummy post, I decided to just go for it and eat the entire batch myself. :-)

  16. This pudding looks wonderful– such a perfect afternoon snack or dessert!

  17. Looks like a wonderful, comforting Fall classic! Love this!

  18. I live in Ontario too! And this pudding looks delicious. I love how the flavours were kept really simple.

  19. Looks fabulous! I’m a rice pudding lover too. It’s one of my comfort foods.

  20. Most amazing rice pudding ever. I’ve made this almost every day since you posted it. It’s become our new snackfood, breakfast, and bedtime treat…YUM!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Pumpkin Cream Oreo Tarts by Lauren’s Latest Hawiian Carrot Cake with Coconut Icing Classic Rice Pudding Pecan Pie Bars Apple Dumplings Pure Canadian Butter Tarts Lemon Meringue […]

Leave a Reply

