Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Addiction gets the better of me sometimes. Once I have an M&M I need the whole bag, once I lick the cake batter off of the beaters I need to spoon some into my mouth, and I can pack in a giant theatre sized bag of popcorn into my belly. Hot.

These sweet potato fries are definitely addictive. They have the perfect amount of crispiness on the outside and are loaded with flavour with only a few ingredients! I like adding a tiny bit of brown sugar to them. Don’t leave this out. It adds soooo much flavour! I often get asked what I do differently. Let’s begin, shall we?

Baked Sweet Potato Fries
This recipes serves 4 as a side dish

Ingredients:
2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. light brown sugar
1/2 tsp. kosher salt, plus extra for sprinkling
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil greased with cooking spray.
2. Halve the sweet potatoes lengthwise and cut each half into long spears. (Soak in cold water for 20-30 minutes before continuing for crispy texture outside. Drain well and pat dry.)
3. Place the potato spears on the sheet pan and toss with olive oil. Spread them in a single layer.
4. Combine the brown sugar, salt, and pepper and sprinkle on the potatoes.
5. Bake for 15 minutes, then turn with a spatula. Bake for another 5 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Sprinkle lightly with kosher salt and serve hot.

Comments

  1. Oooh, I love the addition of brown sugar! It must caramelize nicely on the fries…will definitely try that the next time I make these!

  2. Those fries look so crispy and delish. I’ve (finally) outgrown McDonalds fries and I want to try making a healthier version at home. These are perfect.

  3. Just found your blog tonight and it’s wonderful! Your fries look so delicious and I love sweet potato fries! So happy to have found your blog.

  4. i absolutely loooove sweet potato fries and have gotten dismal results from baking them:( i’m excited to give your recipe a try! they definitely look delicious!

  5. I ADORE sweet potato fries and am going to have to try them with brown sugar!

  6. Not a great fan of sweet potato fries but I will try them with the brown sugar ,,,,bet it’s better than plain.Thanks for the idea.

  7. Ahhh…one of my all time favorites.

    I’ll definitely add the brown sugar next time….

  8. Yum! I make a version of these all the time — brown sugar is a grt addition.

  9. Every time I cook a baked sweet potato I always have to add brown sugar so I just know it would be a perfect addition to these fries! As much as I love regular fries, sweet potato fries are even more delicious (and even a little healthier too, right?) :)

  10. I LOVE sweet potato fries! Seriously, sometimes I eat them for dinner. I never thought to add brown sugar, though. You know what makes them extra crispy? Corn starch! Sprinkle some on after you add the oil and mix it up really well. It really helps!

  11. I made this before and it truly taste awesome!

  12. I am with you girl, once I get started on my favorites it is so hard to stop. Sweet potato fries are one of those foods for sure!

  13. Yay! Glad to see a blog post from you! Love love love sweet potato fries!

  14. Will definitely be adding brown sugar next time :)

  15. I could eat these all day, every day! Yum!

  16. I *live* for sweet potato fries. These look so delish!!!!

  17. I just discovered sweet potato fries when my mom ordered them at a restaurant the other day. We had them dipped in honey butter and they were delicious!

  18. Sweet potato fries are the best. I’ve never made them from scratch (I’m guilty of purchasing frozen ones at Target), but it’s one of those things I just need to do. Love your idea of adding the brown sugar.

  19. The fries look awesome! That 1st pic is just stunning.

    And I make them too….they are so addictive. Sometimes I sprinkle ground ginger and/or cinnamon on mine before baking. Those warm spices go well with the sweetness of the taters.

  20. Looks good!

  21. I agree, sweet potato fries are addictive! They beat “regular” fries hands down, every time.

  22. I am so obsessed with sweet potato fries. I’ve got to try them with brown sugar!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken Crockpot Green Beans/Potatoes/Ham Sunday Grilled Hamburgers Baked Sweet Potato Fries Frozen Veggies Monday Tacos – Ground Beef Tuesday Pulled Pork Sandwiches (crockpot) Baked […]

  2. […] Also try these dandies… Wicked Good Tortilla Dip Baked Sweet Potato Fries […]

Leave a Reply

