Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip

It’s raining here in Switzerland. Hard. I can’t say I enjoy that, but it’s nice to have an excuse to turn on the oven.

When it’s raining I like to use whatever ingredients I have laying around to feed myself. Going outside is not an option. No way. Not a chance. Never….unless you have chocolate to give me.

I decided to make this hot spinach artichoke dip with the ingredients I had on hand. It’s super scrumptious. The bubbly cheese, artichoke, garlic and spinach go perfect with tortillas or toasted pitas. I devoured this…fast.

To begin, preheat your oven to 400˚ F. Then, in a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, parmesan, sour cream and mayonnaise.

Chop up some artichokes…

and some spinach…

and add chopped spinach, chopped artichokes, roasted garlic, salt and red pepper flakes to cream cheese mixture.

Mix well with a rubber spatula until all ingredients are evenly blended.

Spread into a small baking dish (I used a french onion soup bowl). Sprinkle additional grated Parmesan over the top for more awesomeness and bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top is slightly browned. Serve warm with tortilla chips, pita chips, or crackers. Drool.

Spinach Artichoke Dip
Recipe taken from Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for topping
1/3 cup sour cream
1/3 cup mayonnaise
10 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
1 cup coarsely chopped canned artichoke hearts
4 cloves roasted garlic*, smashed
¼ tsp. salt
½ tsp. roasted red pepper flakes

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400˚ F.

In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese, Parmesan, sour cream, mayonnaise, spinach, artichokes, roasted garlic, salt and red pepper flakes. Mix well with a rubber spatula until all ingredients are evenly blended.

Spread into a small baking dish (I used a gratin dish). Sprinkle additional grated Parmesan over the top if desired. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top is slightly browned. Serve warm with baguette slices, pita chips, crackers, etc.

*To roast individual cloves of garlic, I just throw the unpeeled cloves into a baking dish or pan and bake at 350˚ F for 25-30 minutes. Let cool before squeezing the cloves from the peels.

Comments

  1. Yum! This is one of my favorite dips of all time. Yours looks soooo good.

  2. Mmm, perfect comfort food; I especially love the roasted garlic in there. A delicious rainy day treat for sure!

  3. This is one of our FAVES! YUM!

  4. This looks too good!

  5. Oh man, I could eat this everyday.

  6. I adore spinach artichoke dip, and I agree – perfect for a rainy day!

  7. Now I don’t mind having rainy days when I can have a hot spinach artichoke dip ;)

  8. The perfect dip! Yum :)

  9. Yes please! I could eat that whole bowl!

  10. I always assumed that this was a complicated dish and have only ever eaten it at restaurants. I’m going to give it a try at home!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Fall Appetizers: Try my favorite hot spinach artichoke dip for any football gatherings you have coming up…orrrr just for couch munching. The latter […]

  2. […] Fall Appetizers: Try my favorite hot spinach artichoke dip for any football gatherings you have coming up…orrrr just for couch munching. The latter […]

Leave a Reply

