Freaking Awesome Apple Dumplings

Dear healthy lifestyle,
For the most part I think we get along great. I always follow our fitness schedule, I eat the right amount of carbs, dairy, protein, fruits and vegetables, and I go to our regular doctor, optometrist, and dentist appointments. But other times I plain and simply do not like you, and sometimes cheat on you with your two arch enemies – Tonsa Sugar and Lotsa Butter. They know what I really want.

Sometimes in life we come across little specialties that warm the soul. Like snuggling under the covers on a weekend when it’s raining, reading on a sunny front porch, or dipping our toes into the water for the first time and realizing it’s warm!

For me a big comfort food is warm apples. Warm apples with cinnamon, butter, and sugar specifically. I’m such a big fan of apple crisp, apple pie, baked apples…anything really. This recipe is my boyfriends favorite thing that I make. FAVORITE! That’s hard work for a girl with a baking blog. I continue to try and top this recipe over and over again and fail. But alas, it’s hard to live up to these warm, baked, deliciously sweet rolls of goodness. You should make them.

To begin, peel and core apples.

Cut each apple into 8 slices each. Roll each apple slice in a crescent roll.

Place in a 9 x 13 buttered pan.

Melt butter, then add sugar and barely stir.

Add vanilla, stir, and pour entire mixture over apples.

Pour Mountain Dew around the edges of the pan.

Sprinkle with cinnamon

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Serve with ice cream, and spoon some of the sweet sauces from the pan over the top.

Apple Dumplings
Makes 16 dumplings
Recipe taken from The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients
2 whole Granny Smith Apples
2 cans (8 Oz. Cans) Crescent Rolls
2 sticks Butter
1-½ cup Sugar
1 teaspoon Vanilla
Cinnamon, To Taste
1 can (12 Oz.) Mountain Dew Soda

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter a 9 x 13-inch pan.

Peel and core apples. Cut each apple into 8 slices.

Roll each apple slice in a crescent roll. Place in the buttered pan.

Melt butter, then add sugar and barely stir. Add vanilla, stir a little, and pour entire mixture over apples.

Pour Mountain Dew around the edges of the pan, and through the middle.

Sprinkle with cinnamon and bake for about 40 minutes, or until the dumplings are nice and brown on top.

Serve with ice cream, and spoon some of the sweet sauces from the pan over the top.

Comments

  1. This recipe is beyond awesome and by the way …..the way you introduce your recipes on the blog has we the readers drawn in. You should really consider writing whether it be a cooking book or just a novel, about what, I have no idea but it would be great no matter what..

  2. You sold me on this recipe. I NEED to try it!!

  3. Mmm, these look so good and easy! I’m also a sucker for warm apples desserts so I am totally drooling over these!

  4. This looks really interesting, quite unusual ingredients and method of preparation. Pioneer woman rocks!

  5. Hi Katrina! Thanks for visiting my site on Potato Leek Gratin. You have so many nice baked goods and all of them looks delicious! This one is very unique by pouring Mountain Dew! I would love to eat a piece with vanilla ice cream. Yum!

  6. Wow, these look delicious! I could go for a few right now, haha. Wonderful recipe, Katrina. Thanks for stopping by my blog, too. Have a great start to the week! :)

  7. Hi, I’ve just discovered your site and I love it!!!! Your step by step photos are great and make easy to do this recipe!!! comming back soon!!!

  8. Oooo I haven’t made or eaten apple dumplings since I was a little kid. Thanks for the idea — definitely making them this summer or fall. Yours look so good!

  9. Great recipe! Nice blog. I’ll be back to visit.

  10. Those look perfect! I love all the cinnamon ontop.

  11. I made these once and ate an absurd number all by myself! Needless to say they haven’t been repeated here since but yours make me long for them big time :)

  12. My mother in law showed me this recipe years ago and I still surprise people with it today. These ARE so good and people are always shocked to figure out that there is Mountain Dew in there!
    Yours are very pretty!

  13. These are so so so good! Tried them a few weeks ago; they beg for vanilla ice cream on the side. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Sigh…..

    I want some right now!

  15. this sounds fantastic, love the mountain dew addition? Apples are perfect here right now so this would go down a treat. ANd i know what you mean about sugar and butter ;)

  16. Just found you, and love your blog here!!! And might I add, I too have made PW Apple Dumplings. Yeah, you gave them the right name! True True True!
    -Aimee

  17. These look heavenly! Sometimes, healthy just isn’t as important as delicious :)

  18. i absolutely need to try this recipe!

  19. Can a different soda be used in place of Mountain Dew?

Trackbacks

  1. […] by Lauren’s Latest Hawiian Carrot Cake with Coconut Icing Classic Rice Pudding Pecan Pie Bars Apple Dumplings Pure Canadian Butter Tarts Lemon Meringue […]

Leave a Reply

