Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Cake

Here in Switzerland, everything is about 3 weeks early. It. Is. Summer. * Squeal*

Along with the early summer comes a variety of early garden favorites like beautiful crispy lettuce and my long lost baking buddy, rhubarb. Rhubarb and me go way back. I liked to pick the mysterious sour stalks of pink and green as a little girl and dip them in sugar with my “Poppa”. When we had picked too much my Nanny would cook it, and make an awesome stewed rhubarb that was great on morning toast or ice cream. I wanted to try something new with rhubarb though, so I went out and got a stalk from the garden, and decided to make a strawberry rhubarb cake of sorts.

I like this cake because it’s sliceable and still has that “crumble” feel that I’m so fond of. I love how each bite has a beautiful combination of cinnamon-sugar and sweet and tangy strawberry-rhubarb. The crumble topping really puts this recipe over the top. It’s gorgeously matched and gives this moist cake a nice light crunch.

To begin, preheat your oven, grease and flour your pan, and grab a medium bowl. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. In a large mixing bowl, beat together 6 tablespoons butter and granulated sugar until creamy, about 1 minute.

Throw in your egg yolks and vanilla. Here I’m just separating the whites from the yolks and putting the whites into a bowl for breakfast tomorrow :)

Beat until combined. Gradually beat in flour mixture, alternating with milk until combined, about 1-2 minutes.

Spread cake batter evenly into prepared pan.

Top batter with strawberries and rhubarb. Bake for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare the crumb topping: Combine brown sugar, flour, oats, and 4 tablespoons butter; knead together using fingertips or a fork until well combined and mixture starts to clump together. Keep in freezer until ready for use. When cake has baked 20 minutes, top evenly with crumb mixture. Continue baking for an additional 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out with moist crumbs attached.

Cool for 30 minutes before running a knife around outside edges. Remove cake from pan and cool on a rack.

This is delightful. I had a huge slice!

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Cake
Recipe taken from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:
Cake
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large egg yolks
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup milk (I used 2%)
1 cup sliced strawberries
2/3 cup finely chopped rhubarb

Crumb Topping
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup old fashioned oats
1 teaspoon cinnamon
5 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour 1 (9-inch) round cake pan or an 8 x 8 inch square pan (I used this).
2. In a medium mixing bowl, sift together 1 cup flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
3. In a large mixing bowl, beat together 6 tablespoons butter and granulated sugar until creamy, about 1 minute; beat in yolks and vanilla until combined.
4. Gradually beat in flour mixture, alternating with milk until combined, about 1-2 minutes.
5. Spread cake batter evenly into prepared pan. Top batter with strawberries and rhubarb. Bake for 20 minutes.
6. Meanwhile, prepare the crumb topping: Combine brown sugar, flour, oats, and 4 tablespoons butter; knead together using fingertips or a fork until well combined and mixture starts to clump together. Keep in freezer until ready for use.
7. When cake has baked 20 minutes, top evenly with crumb mixture. Continue baking for an additional 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into cakes comes out with moist crumbs attached. Cool for 30 minutes before running a knife around outside edges. Remove cake from pan and cool on a rack.

*Photos taken mostly by Alicia Leroux (thanks Alicia)!

Comments

  1. Mmm such a classic combination! I love this cake — perfect for spring!

  2. Strawberries and rhubarb are SUCH a classic combo – your cake looks phenomenal! I can’t wait until rhubarb starts appearing more regularly in the stores by me.

  3. This sounds delicious! I love strawberries but have never actually baked with rhubarb. I think it’s time I give it a try.

  4. What a beautiful crumb cake! This is one of my favorite springtime treats and yours looks perfect and absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing, Katrina. :)

  5. i just had something like this this weekend and i was dyying to find a recipe for it.
    this looks just like it!
    thank you!!! :)

  6. This looks very good, all of that fruit is perfect for summer! I’d never think to put rhubarb and strawberry together, but this sounds yummy :)

  7. I’ve been dying to make rhubarb pie but rhubarb is so expensive right now. I like this recipe though, I wouldn’t feel as guilty eating this for breakfast as I would pie!

  8. Oh my this looks sooo dreamy! I love rhubarb!

  9. We are still a little ways away from rhubarb, but I will definitely make this one as soon as I have a stalk or two!

  10. I love rhubarb anything, so I know I would love this cake…but that crumble topping really does take it up a notch. Yum!

  11. Strawberry-Rhubarb crumb cake sounds delicious! I’ll have to try it sometime :)

  12. I’ve never tried rhubarb anything, and this looks like a good first dish :)

  13. I love rhubarb, and can’t wait until it’s ready here!!

  14. You are so talented! Your blog is always so beautiful. How do you get such great pictures? because i love how you have a picture of every step. very cool. Our rhubarb is almost ready, so I’m going to steal this soon!! <3

  15. Your pictures of the batter are killing me, I want to dive in! Crumb cakes are my favorite, and this flavor combo will never get old.

  16. annette petersen says:

    This strawberry rhubarb cake looks pretty good! Good job illustrating as well. I may try the recipe to serve after Easter supper. A friend of mine actually opened a new york style-crumb cake business called Crumb Cake Creations a few months ago. She’s doing real well with it, so I wanted to share it seeing as though they look similar (but different) to this particular recipe. Not sure if she lists any recipes on the website, but the cakes are darn good. I’ll check back here once (if) I go forward with the these rhubarb cakes! Enjoy your blog – keep it up.

Trackbacks

  1. […] can never really be too much rhubarb though. It can be made into so many delicious things like cake, pie, spreads for toast, and other muffins. I adore baking with it, and you will […]

Leave a Reply

