Warm Vanilla Sugar in Switzerland

Things have changed a bit for me lately. I moved to Switzerland, left my beautiful kitty behind with the boy (who will be joining me in May), and started a new job studying insects. I’m excited to begin this journey though, and I’m looking forward to learning new Swiss recipes to share with you guys! Beginning with chocolate – check out the grocery store isle’s here!!

Last summer when I visited Switzerland I posted about two traditional Swiss meals – Swiss Cheese Fondue and Raclette. The main ingredient in both recipes? Cheese of course.

Things are a bit different here in Switzerland. When I want a giant tub of peanut butter to make Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cookies, or Buckeyes, I can’t just run to the nearest Superstore and buy it! Everything here is closed on Sundays and stores usually close in between 4 and 7pm every day. So, I have to use what I have on hand. I’m really excited to see what I come up with, but in the meantime, have you seen this cake by Sprinkle Bakes? I’m in love.

Comments

  1. Wow, how exciting! Chocolate and cheese in abundant quantities? Sounds like a good move to me :)

  2. I love the Sound of Music-esque pose at the top! I think you should try one of each chocolate, just for comparison sake. You can’t make an informed decision if you don’t try everything right?

    • haha I totally agree! I did that last year and had a huge rating system and everything! I’m going to continue the same thing this year…once I’ve tried all my old favorite chocolates first :)

  3. You lucky girl! My goal is to travel to Switzerland. I want to ski there, see cows with bells and head straight to that chocolate aisle. Can’t wait to hear everything about your new life there :) xo

  4. How exciting! And I hope you will continue to keep us informed on all the good chocolate, hehe. And maybe do a giveaway? ;-)

  5. Oh my gosh, I am so jealous…you get to eat all the fondue you want! What an exciting job you must have to move to Switzerland, enjoy the chocolate for me!

Leave a Reply

