Pumpkin Molasses Cookies

I feel like I don’t make enough pumpkin recipes. If I do, they are generally made quickly and at night so I can never blog about them! This is why I have chosen to make cookies. After seeing all of the amazing pumpkin baked goods at Christmas time, I knew I had to try to make at least one of them!

These cookies are amazing, and I owe a big thanks to petite kitchenesse for lending this recipe on her blog. The blend of spices is perfectly matched inside of this chewy, moist cookie. Just look inside of that thing…

The only problem?? I only used 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and now I have almost a whole can left! If you have any suggestions on what I could make with the leftover pumpkin, let me know! I’m looking forward to suggestions!!

Let’s bake. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ground ginger, cloves and salt in a large bowl.

Beat butter and sugar together in a medium bowl until fluffy. Add pumpkin puree, molasses, and egg and mix until well combined.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and beat until a well-blended batter forms. Refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Fill a bowl with your rolling sugar. Roll tablespoon-sized balls of batter in sugar until well coated and place on sheet. The cookies will spread, so give them a couple inches of room.

Bake 10–12 minutes, or until cookies look cracked. Let them sit on the sheet for a few minutes after removing them from the oven, then transfer to a wire rack to cool. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Molasses Cookies
Recipe take from petite kitchenesse
Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
2 ⅓ cups AP flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp salt
½ cup unsalted butter
1 cup sugar, plus more for rolling (if you have it, I recommend turbinado sugar for rolling)
½ cup pumpkin puree
¼ cup molasses
1 egg

Directions:
1. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ground ginger, cloves and salt in a large bowl.
2. Beat butter and sugar together in a medium bowl until fluffy. Add pumpkin puree, molasses, and egg and mix until well combined.
3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and beat until a well-blended batter forms.
4. Refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour.
5. Preheat oven to 350°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or two, if you’d like to prep a second sheet while the first one bakes).
6. Fill a bowl with your rolling sugar. Roll tablespoon-sized balls of batter in sugar until well coated and place on sheet. The cookies will spread, so give them a couple inches of room.
7. Bake 10–12 minutes, or until cookies look cracked. Let them sit on the sheet for a few minutes after removing them from the oven, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Comments

  1. I love anything with pumpkin and these look lovely! Since you made sweets, here’s one of my favorite savory pumpkin recipes! :-) http://sugarcrafter.net/2010/10/11/farfalle-with-roasted-butternut-squash-sage-and-creamy-pumpkin-sauce/

  2. It’s looking so yummy.. In India we make a lot of main dishes with pumpkins .. not much used in a sweet dish ! I will give this a try for sure ..

  3. Those look amazing. What a great idea to add pumpkin!

  4. Oh wow, these sound different, I’ve never had pumpkin in something sweet before I really want to try it!

  5. I love seeing pumpkin recipes outside of the ‘typical autumn timeframe.’ Pumpkin is one of my favorite things – I’m bookmarking this recipe for the last can of pumpkin still sitting in my pantry!

  6. These cookies look so good – so fluffy! I have some great pumpkin recipes on my blog – pumpkin bread, pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin cake, etc. This one is my current favorite:

    http://www.whatmegansmaking.com/2010/10/pumpkin-bread.html

  7. Pumpkin and molasses, oh my word. What a wonderful flavor combination, Katrina! These cookies just look perfect, and so soft and flavorful. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Mmmmmm. Now you have me craving these cookies again!

    This might not be for everyone, but one of the most delicious pumpkin things I’ve ever had was a pumpkin pie shake. It’s just pumpkin, milk, vanilla ice cream, brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spices. And I believe the place where I used to get these when I lived in NY (I bought an ungodly amount of them over the years) would also throw in some oats, which were reminiscent of pie crust. Amazing!

  9. I need to try these! I’m a little obsessed with pumpkin!

  10. I am soooo obsessed with pumpkin and well, molasses makes anything better in my opinion.

    Lovely recipe, very cool blog!

    I’ll be back to take a look around…

  11. These sound awesome! But then again, I love everything pumpkin!

  12. I love pumpkin, and these cookies look like little pillows of pumpkin deliciousness :). I used pumpkin in stovetop oatmeal, stirring into yogurt, and also as a replacement for butter or oil in muffins or quick breads. At this point, you’ve probably already come up with a use for your remaining pumpkin, but if you’re still interested – I have a bunch of pumpkin recipes on my recipe page!

  13. this looks so good. thanks for sharing this recipe and have a great weekend:)

  14. Oh I adore chewy cookies and pumpkin is definitely delicious and under-utilized in my household too. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!

  15. I can never get enough pumpkin!! These cookies look great. Here are two recipes to use up that extra puree:

    Pumpkin Coconut Curry
    http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/2009/12/10/pumpkin-coconut-curry-with-chicken-meatballs/

    Pumpkin Chocolate Oat Muffins
    http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/2010/09/10/pumpkin-chocolate-oat-muffins/

  16. Yum! yum yum yum!!! My family would go gaga over these :)!

  17. I just stumbled across this recipe, and it looks so good! I need more ideas with pumpkin, thanks :)

  18. I love anything with molasses but I never thought of using it with pumpkin, can’t wait to try these! Btw, I’m from Ottawa too!

    • You’ll definitely love them, these are my all time favorite muffin! Also, I LOVE that you’re from Ottawa! Now that I’m in Switzerland I’m going to miss running along the canal…buuut I guess the alps are a great view as well :P

Trackbacks

  1. […] I have excess pumpkin from my Pumpkin Molasses Cookies, I decided to look over a few of my favorite blogs for some ideas. I came across so many good […]

Leave a Reply

