Minit Tapioca. Do it.

When I was a little girl my Nanny always made me special treats. Of course these treats needed to be made over, and over again for them to become favorites of mine, but generally it was the easy things (luckily for Nan) that I began to request.

Minit tapioca is an old favorite of mine. A recipe that I’ve been making and reading from the box since I was a tot. This past Christmas holiday I was rummaging around my Nanny’s cupboards, as usual, when I jumped for joy at finding the box of tapioca. So naturally I made this scrumptious recipe as soon as I got in the door of my apartment, and ate it all. At the first bite, I was immediately brought back to feeling like a kid again. I couldn’t wait for the pudding to cool, so I burnt my mouth, and then I ate the whole pot! I wanted to make this again so my boy could try it, so this time I patiently waited. Waited for him to get home, so we could devour this deliciousness and so I could show him how wonderful these simple recipes can be.

To begin, whisk tapioca, sugar, milk, and egg together in a medium saucepan. Let stand for 5 minutes.

Turn on the heat to medium, and bring the mixture to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.

Stir in vanilla.

Cool for 20 minutes, stirring at the 10 minute point. The pudding will thicken as it cools.

Serve warm or chilled. I prefer chilled, so I put it in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. Enjoy!

Minit Tapioca Pudding
Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:
3 tbsp Minit Tapioca
1/4 cup sugar
2-3/4 cups milk (I used 1%, but a higher percentage of fat would be better)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:
1. Whisk tapioca, sugar, milk, and egg together in a medium saucepan. Let stand for 5 minutes.
2. Turn on the heat to medium, and bring the mixture to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.
3. Stir in vanilla.
4. Cool for 20 minutes, stirring at the 10 minute point. The pudding will thicken as it cools.
5. Serve warm or chilled. I prefer chilled, so I put it in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

Comments

  1. HELEN STEWART says:

    Oh how that brings back memories. We like it with a 1/2 teas. of cherry juice over the pudding with a bright red cherry on top. Delicious. Nan

  2. I wasn’t that big of a tapioca lover, but this doesn’t look nearly as bad as I remember. Time to try it out again!

  3. this looks just lovely and very comforting. thank you for sharing this, i cant wait to try it.

  4. This sounds great! Yum!

  5. I just love foods that bring back memories…this looks lovely and so fun to share with your boy too!

  6. I love simple, quick, refreshing treats like this. I will do it for sure ;).

  7. I can tell why this stuff excites you – It looks so warm and comforting and just delicious. Thanks for sharing, Katrina. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

