The Best Pizza Dough

I can’t believe I used to buy frozen pizza dough. It was always alright tasting, and could still generate the “homemade” title, but it wasn’t the best…and I wanted the best.

Everyone has a favorite pizza dough recipe, and I’ve been hunting for it forever. I recently purchased The New Best Recipe cookbook by America’s Test Kitchen, and am proud to say the best pizza dough recipe is in it! FINALLY!

To me dough has to be easy to shape and stretch thin, and the crust has to be crisp and chewy when baked. I’m picky. So, make pizza tonight, and be happy. My actual pizza recipe is coming soon!

Pizza Dough
By America’s Test Kitchen
Makes enough for 4 medium pizzas

Ingredients:
1/2 cup warm water (about 110 degrees F)
1 envelope (2 1/2 tsp) instant yeast
1 1/4 cups water, at room temperature
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
4 cups bread flour, plus more for dusting the work surface and hands
1 1/2 tsp salt
Olive oil for oiling the bowl

Directions:
1. Measure the warm water into a 2-cup liquid measuring cup. Sprinkle in the yeast and let stand until the yeast dissolves and swells, about 5 minutes. Add room temperature water and oil and stir to combine.
2. Combine the salt and half the flour in a deep bowl. Add the liquid ingredients and use a wooden spoon to combine. Add the remaining flour, stirring until a cohesive mass forms.
3. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and knead until smooth and elastic, 7 to 8 minutes, using a little dusting flour as possible while kneading.
4. Form the dough into a ball, put it in a deep oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rise until it doubles in size, about 2 hours.
5. Press the dough to deflate and add your sauce and toppings!

Comments

  1. I love trying different pizza doughs! I will definitely give this one a try!

  2. There’s nothing like homemade pizza! I’m glad you found a really great dough recipe!

  3. Helen Stewart says:

    Looks like a simple enough dough to make so I’ll try it out when the family comes on the week end. Thanks

  4. I have that cookbook but haven’t tried this dough recipe yet. I am partial to the Pioneer Woman’s pizza dough recipe, but I will have to try this one soon!

  5. I love homemade pizza. I love trying different doughs as well. Although I currently have a favorite – we’ll have to see how this compares :)

  6. Yes, the frozen stuff is just not my thing and I feel like eating a shoe. You dough sounds great and I will give it a try real soon.

  7. This dough looks great! My husband and I love making pizza from scratch. We’ll have to give this dough a try.

  8. making this tonight hoping it turns out good!

Leave a Reply

