Tangy Stewed Rhubarb

She’s here! And thank goodness she is. Welcome back rhu-BARB! Doesn’t she look great?!

Rhubarb season is one of my absolute favorites. Rhubarb brings out a sassy, tangy, flavour in baking that makes my mouth water. Luckily, rhubarb is super healthy, and low calorie as well (even though I like to dip it raw in sugar). I love the way my mouth puckers up after a big bite of a raw stalk. It’s saying “GOOD MORNING”!

Let’s get started, shall we? Begin by washing your rhubarb. Chop up the rhubarb into one-inch pieces and place into a large saucepan.

Add sugar, water, vanilla and lemon juice.

Cook over medium heat until the rhubarb is completely cooked, and blends together. You don’t want any hard chunks!

You can serve this on toast. It’s so yummy!

This recipe makes 8 servings, and is 2 weight watchers points per serving (1 serving = 1/4 cup).

Ingredients:
6 cups chopped rhubarb
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp water
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions:
1. Rinse, and chop rhubarb into one-inch chunks and place into a large saucepan.
2. Add all other ingredients and cook on medium heat until rhubarb has completely cooked and turned into a “stew”. You don’t want any hard chunks. This should take about 20 minutes.
3. Allow to cool completely and serve with toast (if having it for breakfast), over ice cream (if having it for dessert), or eat it plain!
4. This stores in the fridge for up to one week.

Comments

  1. Can you believe that I never cooked rhubarb? Your stew looks really yummie on the toast ;-)

  2. The best breakfast for the summer. Hot toast, butter and stewed rhubarb and a steaming cup of coffee. It just HAS to be good for everyone.

  3. I’ve never had it like this before! It looks so easy and delicious!! I may have to give this a whirl!

  4. This looks so lovely! I’ve never had rhubarb on toast… yum! I bet theis would also be great cooled and stirred into yogurt.

  5. Just found your blog, and loving the healthy twist so far. I went to Whole Foods in hopes of finding rhubarb yesterday and they didn’t have it! I live in FL, and I’m dying to try it – hopefully soon! xxSAS

  6. outsideoslo says:

    Isn’t rhubarb wonderful? I made stewed rhubarb earlier this spring, and caught myself eating more of it from the fridge than I should have! The flavors complement vanilla yogurt really well.

Trackbacks

  1. […] my “Poppa”. When we had picked too much my Nanny would cook it, and make an awesome stewed rhubarb that was great on morning toast or ice cream. I wanted to try something new with rhubarb though, so […]

Leave a Reply

