Strawberry Banana Muffins

Mornings are my favorite. The birds are chirping, the rays of sun peak through the clouds, and the rush hour traffic sounds like it’s in my kitchen. Wait. What? Yes, I live in the city, and it is LOUD. Thank goodness I’m moving in a few months. You see, living in the city is good for convenience and convenience only. I don’t have a car so it’s nice to be able to walk anywhere and everywhere I want to go but I miss the stillness of my Nanny’s waterfront. I miss being able to walk in front of my house and be completely positive that I wont see anyone. Maybe someone in a canoe, but that’s about it.

To cheer myself up, and shake the city blues, I decided to make my favorite muffin: Strawberry banana.

Strawberries are hands down my favorite fruit. I must say that I like every fruit, but nothing will ever take the place of my beloved strawberry. It’s plump, it’s juicy, it’s delicious. And mixed with banana? Yes please!

Oh boy, I got so caught up in describing the deliciousness of these beauties that I forgot to mention they’re healthy! This recipe makes 12 perfect muffins that are 3.5 weight watchers points each. Heck, eat two!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 stick of butter, (6 tablespoons) melted
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cups sugar
1 large egg
2 large ripe bananas
1 cup fresh strawberries, diced (I don’t think frozen strawberries would work in this recipe)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake/muffin pan with liners. In a medium bowl, measure out and mix together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, whisk egg and sugar together until well combined. Add melted butter. Mix well. Add vanilla. Squish bananas into the mixture. A nice squish should break the bananas up well enough to be incorporated into the batter.
3. Add strawberries to the dry mixture. Toss until strawberries are well coated with flour mixture. Add dry strawberry mixture to the wet mixture. Use a VERY light hand to mix at this point. The more mixing you do the tougher the muffin so try not to over mix.


4. Divide batter equally in liners. Bake until golden brown, about 22-30 minutes.

5. Cool for 5 minutes in the pan. Then enjoy.

Comments

  1. Strawberry banana is one of my favorite flavor combinations and these look lovely :)

  2. Oh man these look yummy!

  3. BEAUTIFUL MUFFINS-THEY LOOK MOIST AND DELICIOUS.

    NISRINE

  4. Yes living in the city certainly is convenient, but there are drawbacks like the noise, crime and traffic. I live in a small town right now and actually really want to live in a place where there are more people, and more variety. Yum, I love strawberries! Actually, I just finished making a sponge layer cake with strawberry swiss meringue buttercream!

  5. I made these for this weekend as a quick breakfast for camping with my boyfriend and they turned out wonderfully!! He loves strawberries and bananas so I hope he loves them as much as I do. Thank you for the awesome and easy recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. […] turned out great! Thank goodness. Actually, these muffins are now my new favorite!! They beat my Strawberry Banana muffins, which have been a favorite of mine for years. Change is […]

  2. […] love the combination of banana and berry in muffin form. My absolute favorite muffin is my Strawberry Banana Muffin recipe, but this is definitely a close second, and an absolute hit with my boyfriend who requested […]

Leave a Reply

