Double that chocolate chunk…cookie


Eventually, you’ll begin to notice that I love baking cookies. Why? Because when you don’t have anyone to bake for they are a nice small snack, and they freeze really well if you want to save some for later.

Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite. They’re filled with butter, and feel so great on the taste buds. So I thought, why not make these bad boys better and put extra chocolate into that batter, add some chocolate chunks with the chips, and add some white chocolate? Sounds good to me, and I followed through. No regrets.

I try to eat my breakfast early everyday for one reason – so I can eat chocolate right after, and not feel guilty about it. I love chocolate. Sometimes, a little too much. These chewy, double chocolate, dream cookies are amazing in every way. There are a few white chocolate chunks mixed in with the semi-sweet chocolate to balance the cookie’s richness.

You’ll notice that my recipe calls for chocolate “chips”. I wrote it out like this so that it would be easy to do the measurements. I chopped up some semisweet bakers chocolate as well as white chocolate blocks to add to the look of the cookie, but chips definitely still do the trick. Umm..pass the milk!

These double chocolate chunk cookies are an original recipe :)

Ingredients:
4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tbsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Melt 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips over low heat, stirring until melted. Set aside and cool to room temperature; do not allow the chocolate to become firm.

2. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the butter, brown sugar and vanilla in a large bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs and melted chocolate until fluffy.

4. Stir in the flour mixture until combined, then stir in the remaining chocolate chips and white chocolate chips.

5. Scoop out the dough by tablespoonfuls, and drop 2 to 3 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet.

6. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until set (centre will appear soft and moist). Cool for 1 to 2 minutes on baking sheet, and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Comments

  1. H. Stewart says:

    Oh my gosh!! They sound heavenly. I shall give them a try . I always thought the hershy recipe would be the best but I think you have outdone them.:)

Trackbacks

  1. […] them. Tonight’s snack is going to be My Nanny’s Tortilla Dip (recipe to come later), my Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies, and these absolutely beautiful Peanut Butter Chocolate Kiss Cookies. I think that’ll be […]

  2. […] them. Tonight’s snack is going to be My Nanny’s Tortilla Dip (recipe to come later), my Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies, and these absolutely beautiful Peanut Butter Chocolate Kiss Cookies. I think that’ll be […]

Leave a Reply

