Chewy n’ Thick Ginger Drops

It’s taken me a long, and very sticky road to become a ginger molasses cookie pro, and it’s because they are my favorite (yes, even more than the ultimate chocolate chip). So far, and surprisingly, the master of these cookies has been Starbucks. Really? YES really! Check them out if you don’t have time to make them yourself. They’re big, they’re soft, and they’re D-licious!

I’ve tried every possible recipe for these cookies and have found a few (more to come) that are similar in taste, but rather different in texture. Cool eh? This recipe in particular is extremely soft, and chewy like a brownie. Uhh…YUM!

My tummy thanks me for trying, and tasting all of these phenomenal recipes, and your tummy will surely be happy as well.

Ingredients:
3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup molasses
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup hot milk
extra white sugar (for topping)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F, and lightly grease baking sheets. Set aside.

2. In the following order combine (with your hands) flour, sugar, ginger, cinnamon, salt, molasses, butter and egg in a large bowl.

3. Stir the baking soda into the hot milk and add to the flour mixture. Beat until well combined.

4. Scoop out the dough by tablespoons about two inches apart onto the prepared baking sheets. Add white sugar on the top for garnish.

5. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes until dry but still soft. Cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Sometimes I have this problem with allowing the cookies to cool completely. I mean, how can I expect myself to just let the cookies cool when they’re begging me to eat them?

Comments

  1. H. Stewart says:

    The cookies look really tempting . I am taken by your photography. Didn’t know you were so talented. Congrats.

  2. Thanks nan! You’re my biggest fan :)

  3. H. Stewart says:

    Poppa is WHINING for cookies . I think I’ll start with the Ginger cookies. Will let you know :)

  4. Awesome! You’ll love them. Let me know how it goes.

Trackbacks

  1. […] are some dandies of mine too: Chewy n’ Thick Ginger Drops My Favorite Chocolate Chip […]

  2. […] are some dandies of mine too: Chewy n’ Thick Ginger Drops My Favorite Chocolate Chip […]

Leave a Reply

