Curried Butternut Squash Soup

I’m baaaaack! From beautiful Costa Rica. Another world, really. Filled with various monkeys, butterflies, spiders, flowers, and sea creatures. Much different from the winter wonderland I’m experiencing here in Ottawa.

Although I had the time of my life, after a two week vacation it’s good to be home.

There’s nothing quite like coming back to your own space, your own cooking, and all the little familiar surroundings.

Like soup. Comforting, warm, and tasty. This soup in particular is thick with a hearty dose of curry that is all kinds of awesome.

To begin, preheat your oven and place squash halves, cut side up, onto a baking sheet and place one tablespoon of butter and sugar into the cavity of each.

Roast squash for about 1 hour or until the flesh has softened.

Allow the squash to cool for 15 minutes before scooping the flesh into a bowl. Discard the skin.

Heat oil in saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onions and sauté for 5 minutes.

Add thyme and chives and sauté for an additional 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add curry powder, cumin, cinnamon, and squash and stir until just combined.

Pour the broth over the mixture and stir. Simmer soup for 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Pour mixture into a blender (or use an immersion blender) and puree until smooth. Pour the soup back into the pan and adjust seasonings. Simmer for 5 minutes, remove from heat. Whisk cream into soup. Add desired amount of honey to taste.

To garnish I like to drizzle about 1/2 tsp of cream on top with some chopped chives. It really makes the bowl look pretty!

Curried Butternut Squash Soup
Recipe from Spoon Fork Bacon
Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:
2 medium butternut squash, halved and seeded
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) salted butter, divided
4 tsp light brown sugar, divided
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 yellow onion, diced
1 tablespoon thyme, minced
2 teaspoons chives, thinly sliced
1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 ¼ cups vegetable broth
2/3 cup heavy cream
salt and pepper to taste
honey to taste (I used about 1 tbsp)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. Place squash halves, cut side up, onto a baking sheet and place one tablespoon of butter and sugar into the cavity of each.
3. Roast squash for about 1 hour or until the flesh has softened.
4. Allow the squash to cool for 15 minutes before scooping the flesh into a bowl. Discard the skin.
5. Heat oil in saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onions and sauté for 5 minutes.
6. Add thyme and chives and sauté for an additional 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
7. Add curry powder, cumin, cinnamon, and squash and stir until just combined.
8. Pour the broth over the mixture and stir. Simmer soup for 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
9. Pour mixture into a blender (or use an immersion blender) and puree until smooth.
10. Pour the soup back into the pan and adjust seasonings. Simmer for 5 minutes, remove from heat. Whisk cream into soup. Add desired amount of honey to taste.

To garnish I like to drizzle about 1/2 tsp of cream on top with some chopped chives. It looks really pretty!

Comments

  1. God, this looks good! I’m making it!!

  2. Wonderful soup! Love that you roast the butternut squash. Also love your blog – I’m signing up to follow!
    mary x

  3. If I haven’t already told…I’m in love with your blog! I just used a big chunk of my lunch break printing a bunch of your recipes…and reading your cute stories :)

  4. This is such an interesting flavor mix to me, I love butternut squash but have never tried curry seasoning with it. I’ll have to try it out!

  5. This is one of my very favorite soups and I love your take on it!

  6. What could be better on a cold snowy day than a bowl of hot soup and sitting by the fireplace just dreaming the day go by.. Another soup to make this week. Yummy

  7. Costa Rica?! Lucky! It’s top on my list.

    Butternut squash soup, especially with curry, is one of my favorite soups.

  8. This soup looks wonderful! So perfect for cold dreary nights, and i am sure it reheats well for a hearty, warming lunch too. Yum!

  9. I think this soup might just be heaven. I’m a huge fan of butternut squash anything, but this soup with a little curry sounds absolutely delightful! Thanks for sharing :)

  10. LOVE the addition of curry. How warming!
    And I want to go to Costa Rica! How fun!

  11. I made a similar soup years ago, and remember it being delicious. I need to try this one!! And I would love to go to Costa Rica one day – how fun!

  12. Love the travel pics! Good friends of mine are actually going to Costa Rica for 6 months – wish I could jump in one of their backpacks! Also, nothing better than butternut squash soup. Yum!

  13. can’t wait to hear more about your trip!

    i spent a month in costa rica with the howler monkeys and everything else back in 2001. A lifetime ago! getting my first yoga teacher training credentials.

  14. I’m from CR and glad you liked it… lovely images you took over there!

  15. hahaha that monkey is lovely! the soup looks so thick and creamy just how I like them

  16. This soup looks oh so lovely! Glad you had a wonderful vacation!

  17. ahhh this looks beyond awesome! I love that it’s curried! I have a love affair with that spice/flavor! =)

  18. Love the photos! I went to Costa Rica as a college graduation trip with a few girlfriends. Absolutely loved it – it was amazing to see monkeys in the tree, walk through rainforests with giant butterflies, and get to see a volcano. This soup looks lovely for a quiet night in.

  19. This looks like perfect comfort food to get you excited about being home! I’ve never seen squash roasted with butter and sugar like that, I love that idea!

  20. Sounds like you had a great trip! I agree, when I get home from traveling, I always want something comforting – and it’s usually soup. This recipe looks so yummy!

  21. I could go for a huge pot of this with our tardy winter having finally arrived. :)

  22. Your soup looks fabulous. I love the curry flavor with the squash. I am sure Costa Rica was an incredible experience! I understand that it is beautiful there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

