Carrot Cake {and Happy Birthday to Me!}

I made a cake. Yesterday was my 24th birthday and I wanted to celebrate with something sweet that makes me happy.

Having a December birthday is weird. As a kid, there were a few “Christmas-Birthday” gifts (a 13 year olds worst nightmare) and I often got money which I then spent on other peoples Christmas gifts soon after. Now that I’m in College, my birthday lies in the middle of exams. This sucks big time. No one is available to hang out and I end up having to spend my birthday studying! Silly eh? At lease there’s cake. Cake can always make a girl smile.

Now, you might be thinking “carrot cake for your birthday? Really?”. And the answer is YES!

When I first started dating my boyfriend his parents kept mentioning this little cafe in a town near by that sold “the best carrot cake/cake in general/sweet thing ever”. I was skeptical. You see, I didn’t like carrot cake. The only stuff I’d ever had was at church bake sales and it always had raisins in it. Yech. What are those short, cute, ladies thinking?!

Anyway, I won’t ever turn down a new dessert, especially one with such high praise. As I slid my fork into that double-decker, moist, deliciousness, and placed the cake in my mouth…I fell in love. I fell in love with a cake. And since that first bite I’ve been wanting to make a carrot cake that matched that spectacular taste.

The verdict? This cake is the second best carrot cake ever! haha, I didn’t completely get it. I WILL make this again, and the only thing I would change would be to take out the walnuts. I really like a big slice of cake that isn’t broken up too much, and I find the walnuts do that.

The icing though? Holy freaking moley. You could drink this stuff. It’s so creamy and tastes like a dream.

Let’s get baking shall we?

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 8-inch round cakepans with waxed paper. Lightly grease and flour the waxed paper. Set pans aside. Stir together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

Put eggs, sugar, oil, buttermilk, and vanilla in a large bowl.

Beat them all together at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the flour mixture, beating at low speed until blended.

Fold in grated carrot.

Fold in pineapple, coconut, and pecans. Pour batter into prepared cake pans.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center come out clean.

Prepare your buttermilk glaze.

Drizzle Buttermilk Glaze evenly over layers; cool in pans on wire racks for 15 minutes.

Cool completely on wire racks.

Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy.

Add powdered sugar and vanilla; beat until smooth.

Place a big scoop of icing on top of the cake. And spread it around. Make sure to put it on thick!

Gently place the second cake atop the first one.

Evenly distribute icing on the top and on the sides. If you want to get fancy, you can stick this in the fridge so the icing can set and then add on one more even layer of icing.

Carrot Cake
Recipe taken from the Tasty Kitchen website.

Ingredients:
Cake
2 cups All-purpose Flour
2 teaspoons Baking Soda
½ teaspoons Salt
2 teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
3 whole Large Eggs
2 cups Sugar
¾ cups Vegetable Oil
¾ cups Buttermilk
2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
2 cups Grated Carrot
1 can (8 Oz. Can) Crushed Pineapple, Drained
3-½ ounces, weight Flaked Coconut
1 cup Chopped Pecans

Buttermilk glaze:
½ cups Sugar
¾ teaspoons Baking Soda
¼ cups Buttermilk
¼ cups Butter Or Margarine
½ Tablespoons Light Corn Syrup
½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Cream Cheese Frosting
¾ cups Butter Or Margarine, Softened
11 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened
3 cups Sifted Powdered Sugar
1-½ teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Directions:
Cake
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 8-inch (or 9-inch) round cakepans with waxed paper. Lightly grease and flour the waxed paper. Set pans aside.
Stir together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
Beat eggs, sugar, oil, buttermilk, and vanilla at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the flour mixture, beating at low speed until blended. Fold in grated carrot, pineapple, coconut, and pecans. Pour batter into prepared cake pans.
Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center come out clean. Drizzle Buttermilk Glaze evenly over layers; cool in pans on wire racks for 15 minutes. Remove from pans, and cool completely on wire racks. Spread Cream Cheese Frosting between layers and on the top and sides of cake.

Buttermilk glaze
Bring sugar, baking soda, buttermilk, butter or margarine, and light corn syrup to a boil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Boil, stirring often, for 4 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

Cream cheese frosting
Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Add powdered sugar and vanilla; beat until smooth.

Comments

  1. Happy birthday chica!

    I always had carrot cake for my birthday in college. You just can’t go wrong with cream cheese frosting, after all. This looks awesome!

  2. Happy birthday to you!! My birthday is today, so we can celebrate our weird December birthdays together, hehe! This cake looks phenomenal and the perfect way to celebrate! :-)

  3. Happy Bday!!!!!!

    My hubs’ bday is coming up in a few days and he used to get the holiday/bday combo stuff as a kid, too.

    This cake..and the frosting..amazing!

  4. The Teenage Taste says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you had a great day – I couldn’t think of a more delicious cake to celebrate with! Carrot Cake is my favorite too!

  5. Happy belated birthday! What a delicious way to celebrate!

  6. Happy belated birthday to you!! Hope it was a wonderful day :) I would love to celebrate my birthday with this cake – carrot cake and cream cheese frosting is such a good combo!

  7. happy birthday to you!! i sure hope you had a lovely day. i always wondered about people who have a b-day in december. sure hope your family made it a special for you. seems only fair to make it a very, very special for you. enjoy the weekend. (:

  8. Happy birthday! Your carrot cake looks amazing! I have eaten cake before, but never with a buttermilk glaze, that sounds great.

  9. Happy Birthday! Being a fellow December birthday and a thirteen year old, I hear you.

    Well great. Now I want cake. ;)

  10. Happy birthday to you!!! What a prefect cake for celebrating. And you even ate your veggies :)

  11. Happy birthday! Hope you had a lovely birthday weekend! :)

  12. 1. happy birthday!
    2. buttermilk glaze definitely got a double-take. wowza!

  13. Happy Belated Birthday!!!!! I didn’t realize you’re only about 4 months older than me! Twins. ;) Also, this carrot cake looks incredible.

  14. Happy Belated Bday! Yummy cake :)

  15. Happy! Happy! Birthday!!!

    This is a great and beautiful cake :)

  16. Happy late birthday!
    Having a birthday around this time is strange, I agree. My birthday is on January 1st, and my brothers is on Dec 19th.
    What a great birthday cake – my Mom would take this for her cake any day!

  17. Happy Birthday! And YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

  18. That’s a really serious carrot cake. My husband would love me forever.
    Wait, he’s already gonna love me forever.
    He’d love me past forever.
    It’d be, like, reincarnation-type love.

  19. Hahaha, what ARE those short, cute ladies thinking?? We’d all like to know :) This looks delicious – happy belated birthday!!

  20. gourmetmommy says:

    Great post! My son’s (3rd) birthday is this weekend, so I loved hearing about your experience having a December birthday. Also, he’s requested a cake with pineapples in it, so I think I found my recipe!

  21. Happy Birthday! This cake looks like the perfect gift to yourself and study break :) My sister’s birthday is the 23rd of December and she always hated having it smushed in with Christmas too. I like that this cake isn’t holiday-inspired. It makes it more birthday special. I’ll definitely have to remember it for her.

  22. Oh, I suck. I’m so slow. :(

    Happy very late birthday to you! I hope you nail your cake recipe one day and that it’ll be even better than the original! And I agree about the icing. It’s addictive! I put cream cheese in every kind of icing. It’s just too sweet without it!

  23. Happy birthday! Love you blog – very nice post.

  24. Happy Belated Birthday, Katrina! I have to say I giggled when I read your post, because I feel exactly the same way you do about raisins and walnuts in cake, particulary raisins. I didn’t realize how life-changing carrot cake could be until I got old enough to realize that I had the power to omit the raisins! Your cake looks incredible, and now you have me needing carrot cake…xo

  25. Happy belated birthday! And I would totally love this cake for my birthday!

  26. Hi, Happy birthday and new year. It is perfect , delicious…. It also look wonderful.
    I’d like to learn why you use buttermilk glaze. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

