Pumpkin Spice Latte

I’m busy. Next Monday and Thursday are my final exams and I’m swamped with final assignments and studying. Dinners have been a cinch though. Since my boy knows I’m swamped with school, he’s been taking over the kitchen for dinner and whipping up some really awesome eats! Tonight we’re having this quick pasta. Awesome.

Since I’m so busy I really like the times when I can just mellow out and take a breather. I made this latte this morning so that I had something to look forward to last night, and also so that my day started out happy. It’s cheaper than a coffee shop, it’s better than a coffee shop, and it plain and simply makes me happy. Have a great week everyone! xoxo

Pumpkin Spice Latte
From The Pastry Affair who adapted it from The Kitchn
Enough for two large mugs

Ingredients:
2 cups milk
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups strongly brewed coffee, hot
Whipped cream (optional, I didn’t use any)

Directions:
In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, warm milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, pumpkin, and brown sugar until steaming (do not boil!). Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla extract. Pour milk mixture into a large blender and blend milk until frothy. Note: Be very careful when blending hot liquids as they expand and blend really quick.

Pour milk mixture evenly between 2 large mugs. Pour 1 cup hot coffee in each mug and top with whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon.

Serve hot!

Comments

  1. What a wonderful hot drink on a cold winters day and especially after standing around while watching the Christmas parade.

  2. I. Am. In. Love! If I had more than two thumbs, they’d all be up right now. *runs to the kitchen to make this*

  3. Love pumpkin spice lattes! Yours looks so cozy and comforting. :-)

  4. Haha, love your first line…I’m busy, guys. Serious. But here is an awesome blog post anyway ;) Looks delicious, if only I drank coffee!

  5. Good luck with your exams!!

  6. I could definitely have a cup now. Looks fabulous, so warm and comforting!

  7. Good luck with all your exams!! Home stretch!

  8. I love the look of your blog – beautiful! A pumpkin spice latte is just perfectly soothing for this time of year, there’s nothing like it!
    http//www.chocolateshavings.ca

  9. I’m totally envious of 1) the latte, and 2) whatever baked treat is in the background. :) Looks like a perfect way tot start the day!

  10. Anything with pumpkin spice is a good thing!! Good luck finishing up all your school stuff!

  11. Ummm yes please! I love me some latte! :)

  12. mmmmmm… wish now I don’t have to go to Starbucks! I was just thinking I needed a recipe for this.

  13. When I’m stressed/busy, I love the idea of taking a few minutes to just sit and sip. This latte sounds delicious! I bet it’s even better than Starbucks’

  14. I love this – a pumpkin latte made with real ingredients! Looks tasty!

  15. I love this! So good for using up leftover canned pumpkin, too!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] awesome pumpkin recipes: Pumpkin Spice Latte Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Muffins Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal by Mississippi Kitchen Like this:LikeBe the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

