Homemade White Chocolate Peanut Butter

I have now been in Switzerland for a week running around like crazy, and trying to get organized. My work day is from 8 to 5:30, but with marathon training and morning exercises in between I find it hard to get anything done. This weekend I had some time to myself so I went to the grocery store only to find that it didn’t have peanut butter. I was confused, but upon asking a local (in my very bad French) I learned that the Swiss don’t really eat peanut butter. You can get it in some specialty stores, but it’s not common at all. WEIRD!

In North America people go crazy for it, and when they can’t have it they go nuts for peanut butter substitutes like sunbutter or almond butter (which are both amazing as well). I am one of those typical North American’s that also love the stuff. Before leaving for Switzerland I made my own peanut butter often, and tried this white chocolate variation from How Sweet It Is. It’s a must try!

To begin, grab some high quality dry roasted peanuts.

Add peanuts to a food processor and blend until a thick nut butter forms. Stream in oil and vanilla with the processor on, continuing to run it until the mixture is smooth (about 3-4 minutes). You can add more oil if needed, but in small increments. Turn off processor, add melted chocolate, and turn processor back on. Blend until smooth.

Try it out on some yummy whole wheat toast, and enjoy! I miss this stuff.

Homemade White Chocolate Peanut Butter
Recipe from How Sweet It Is
Makes about 3/4 cup

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups dry, roasted peanuts (I used salted)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons canola oil
1/3 cup white chocolate chips/chunks/bars, melted

Directions:
1. Add peanuts to a food processor and blend until a thick nut butter forms. Stream in oil and vanilla with the processor on, continuing to run it until the mixture is smooth (takes about 3-4 minutes). You can add more oil if needed, just do it in small increments.
2. Turn off processor, add melted chocolate, and turn processor back on. Blend until smooth.

You can keep this peanut butter at room temperature for a week, but refrigerate it if you want to keep it for a few weeks.

Comments

  1. oh great. i’m screwed!!!
    i’m obsessed with white chocolate wonderful pb… i try not to buy it that often, though, because it’s so addicting!!
    now i’ll be making this all the time!!! :)

  2. HELEN STEWART says:

    Sure sounds and looks even better. This will be on my to do list.

  3. I’ve never tried making my own peanut butter before, but with the addition of white chocolate, this sounds much too delish to resist!

  4. I saw this recipe over at How Sweet It Is too, and I can’t wait to make it. I’m glad you found a way to enjoy peanut butter over in Switzerland :)

  5. Wow, I’ve never tried making peanut butter, but it seems so easy and delicious that I need to try it, loved it :)
    xo

  6. Wow, a white chocolate peanut butter.. never heard of it before, but it sounds amazing!!

  7. Love this idea!

  8. This looks and sounds terrific! Better then jar peanut butter

  9. I’ve never tried white chocolate peanut butter. Your pics make me want to try it sooo bad :)

  10. Just what I need – a recipe for peanut butter with CHOCOLATE! Big problem for me – I LOVE CHOCOLATE!

    I have been to Switzerland a number of times but when I go somewhere new I always want to try the local fare, not what we have back here in the States.

  11. ohmygoodness, this looks amazing!!

  12. Mmm, this looks incredible Katrina! I made the same recipe for peanut butter, but instead of white chocolate I added vanilla bean paste and honey. YUM! Isn’t it such an interesting process to watch the peanuts transform, too? Love this recipe. Thanks for sharing. I hope you have a great weekend!

  13. Oh my goodness, this looks dangerously delicious! Thanks for posting!

  14. I couldn’t exist without peanut butter…but have yet to make my own. I asked for a food processor for my b-day coming up, so hopefully i’ll get one and be making this recipe! There are so many variations to it as well… :-) thanks

  15. I had no idea you could just make your own gourmet peanut butter! I bought peanuts about 2 hours after I read this. Then I ate them all. But I’m going out today to get some more. :)

  16. I have been looking for this at my grocery store, thanks for posting, now I know that I can make it at home!

  17. Wow, this sounds awesome,and really easy to make! I don’t know why, but I’ve never tried to make my own peanut butter…but now that will have to change!

  18. Katrina,
    I just found your blog through Joy the Baker and am very happy I did. I think I am definitely going to have to make this recipe. I also think that I’ll just be eating it out of the jar like I do the Nutella!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] but because she lives in Switzerland she can’t buy it. Instead she’s forced to make her own homemade gourmet white chocolate peanut butter. Yes. I feel sorry for her too. Of course, reading about gourmet peanut butter starts a craving for [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

